Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Jackie Robinson Story Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Despite its lack of production values and box-office "names," The Jackie Robinson Story is one of the best and most convincing baseball biopics ever filmed. Brooklyn Dodgers second baseman [[Performer~P60791~Jackie Robinson~jackierobinson]] plays himself, and quite well indeed. The film traces [[Performer~P60791~Robinson~jackierobinson]]'s career from his college days, when he excelled as a track star at Pasadena College and as UCLA's All-Sports record holder. Upon his graduation, [[Performer~P60791~Robinson~jackierobinson]] tries to get a coaching job, but this is the 1940s, and most doors are closed to black athletes. After serving in the army, Robinson plays with the Negro Baseball League, where his uncanny skills attract the attention of Branch Rickey, general manager of the Brooklyn Dodgers. Anxious to break down the "color line" that exists in major-league baseball, [[Performer~P60791~Robinson~jackierobinson]] is chosen in 1946 to play for the Brooklyn farm team in Montreal. In a harrowing sequence, Rickey lets [[Performer~P60791~Robinson~jackierobinson]] know what he's in for by bombarding him with insults and racial slurs. The manager is merely testing [[Performer~P60791~Robinson~jackierobinson]]'s ability to withstand the pressure: he wants a black ballplayer "with guts enough not to fight back." Robinson agrees to ignore all racial epithets for the first two years of his Brooklyn contract. Despite the unabashed hatred to which he is subjected during his year with Montreal, [[Performer~P60791~Robinson~jackierobinson]] steadfastly continues to turn the other cheek, and in 1947 he graduates to the Dodgers lineup. After a slow start, [[Performer~P60791~Robinson~jackierobinson]] justifies the faith put in him by Rickey. The Dodgers win the pennant race, and slowly but surely the ban on black players vanishes in the big leagues. Though a model of restraint by 1990s standards, The Jackie Robinson Story is surprisingly frank in its detailing of the racial tensions of its own era. It falters only in a couple of silly vignettes involving comic-relief ballplayer Ben Lessey. The cast is uniformly fine, including [[Performer~P4840~Louise Beavers~louisebeavers]] as [[Performer~P60791~Robinson~jackierobinson]]'s mother, [[Performer~P18243~Ruby Dee~rubydee]] as his wife Rae ([[Performer~P18243~Dee~rubydee]] would later play [[Performer~P60791~Robinson~jackierobinson]]'s mother in the 1990 TV movie [[Feature~V11238~The Court-Martial of Jackie Robinson~thecourtmartialofjackierobinson]]), [[Performer~P23997~Joel Fluellen~joelfluellen]] as his brother Mac, [[Performer~P75012~Minor Watson~minorwatson]] as Branch Rickey, and best of all, [[Performer~P98658~Richard Lane~richardlane]] as Montreal manager Clay Hopper. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Ruby Dee
as Rae Robinson
Minor Watson
as Branch Rickey
Louise Beavers
as Jackie's Mother
Richard Lane
as Hopper
Harry Shannon
as Charlie
Ben Lessy
as Shorty
Billy Wayne
as Clyde Sukeforth
Joel Fluellen
as Mack Robinson
Bernie Hamilton
as Ernie
Kenny Washington
as Tigers' Manager
Pat Flaherty
as Karpen
George Dockstader
as Bill

Crew

Alfred E. Green
Director
Mort Briskin
Producer
Ernest Laszlo
Cinematographer
Herschel Burke Gilbert
Composer (Music Score)
David Chudnow
Composer (Music Score)
Advertisement