Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Jackie Brown Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P113658~Quentin Tarantino~quentintarantino]] wrote and directed this adaptation of [[Performer~P99358~Elmore Leonard~elmoreleonard]]'s 1995 [[Feature~V140588~Rum Punch~punchdrunk]], switching the action from Miami to LA, and altering the central character from white to black. Ruthless arms dealer Ordell Robbie ([[Performer~P34866~Samuel L. Jackson~samuelljackson]]), who lives with perpetually stoned beach-babe Melanie ([[Performer~P24096~Bridget Fonda~bridgetfonda]]), teams with his old buddy Louis Gara ([[Performer~P17593~Robert De Niro~robertdeniro]]), just released from prison after serving four years for armed robbery. ATF agent Ray Nicolette ([[Performer~P37277~Michael Keaton~michaelkeaton]]) and cop Mark Dargus ([[Performer~P7725~Michael Bowen~michaelbowen]]) bust stewardess Jackie Brown ([[Performer~P28768~Pam Grier~pamgrier]]), who was smuggling money into the country for Ordell. Ordell springs Jackie, but when middle-aged bail bondsman Max Cherry ([[Performer~P90191~Robert Forster~robertforster]]) picks her up at the jail, he's attracted to her, and they choose a romantic route with detours. Mistrust and suspicions surface after Jackie pits Ordell and the cops against each other, convincing Ordell that she's going to double-cross the cops. Tarantino commented on the film's budget: "Jackie Brown only cost $12 million. You can't lose. You absolutely, positively can't lose. And you don't have to compromise." ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:December 25, 1997

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Screen Actors Guild Pam Grier Best Actress 1997 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Pam Grier Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1997 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Robert Forster Best Supporting Actor 1997 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Samuel L. Jackson Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1997 Nominee
Berlin International Film Festival Samuel L. Jackson Silver Bear for Best Actor 1998 Winner

Cast

Pam Grier
as Jackie Brown
Samuel L. Jackson
as Ordell Robbie
Robert Forster
as Max Cherry
Bridget Fonda
as Melanie
Michael Keaton
as Ray Nicolette
Robert De Niro
as Louis Gara
Michael Bowen
as Mark Dargus
Chris Tucker
as Beaumont Livingston
Lisa Gay Hamilton
as Sheronda
Tommy "Tiny" Lister, Jr.
as Winston
Hattie Winston
as Simone
Aimee Graham
as Amy (Billingsley Sales Girl)
Sid Haig
as Judge
Denise Crosby
as Attorney
Quentin Tarantino
as Voice on Answering Machine

Crew

Quentin Tarantino
Director
Lawrence Bender
Producer
Quentin Tarantino
Screenwriter
Elmore Leonard
Book Author
Guillermo Navarro
Cinematographer
Mary Ramos
Musical Direction/Supervision
Sally Menke
Editor
David Wasco
Production Designer
Paul Hellerman
Co-producer
Harvey Weinstein
Executive Producer
Bob Weinstein
Executive Producer
Elmore Leonard
Executive Producer
Richard N. Gladstein
Executive Producer
Mariko Braswell
Set Designer
Sandy Reynolds-Wasco
Set Designer
Mary Claire Hannan
Costume Designer
Mark Ulano
Sound/Sound Designer
William Paul Clark
First Assistant Director
Advertisement