Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Jacket Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A troubled war veteran tries to unlock his memories of a terrible crime in this stylish thriller, the first American project for British filmmaker [[Performer~P191998~John Maybury~johnmaybury]]. In 1991, Jack Starks ([[Performer~P8639~Adrien Brody~adrienbrody]]) was an American soldier serving in the Persian Gulf when he was shot in the head; pronounced dead by a field surgeon, Starks somehow returned to life, though with no small number of psychological problems to show for his troubles. A year later, Starks is walking through the snowy Vermont wilderness when he discovers a woman whose truck has broken down, Jean ([[Performer~P43940~Kelly Lynch~kellylynch]]). Starks tries to help Jean and her young daughter, and later flags down a car for a ride into town; however, the car is being driven by a criminal on the run from the police ([[Performer~P197546~Brad Renfro~bradrenfro]]), and not long after the car is cornered by police, Starks' memory goes blank. When he comes to, Jack is accused of killing a patrolman in the violent standoff that followed, and is told that the woman, her daughter, and the criminal existed only in his imagination. Declared insane in his murder trial, Starks is sentenced to a mental institution run by Dr. Becker ([[Performer~P98154~Kris Kristofferson~kriskristofferson]]), who seems to believe that the more brutal the treatment, the better. As Starks suffers frequent beatings and long spells in a frozen locker, his mind drifts from his harrowing past into the future, where he visits with Jackie ([[Performer~P339282~Keira Knightley~keiraknightley]]), who once was the young girl Starks tried to help. The Jacket also features [[Performer~P41672~Jennifer Jason Leigh~jenniferjasonleigh]] as Dr. Lorenson, a compassionate doctor who tries to help Starks and his fellow patients. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:March 4, 2005

Cast

Adrien Brody
as Jack Starks
Keira Knightley
as Jackie Price
Kris Kristofferson
as Dr. Becker
Jennifer Jason Leigh
as Dr. Lorenson
Daniel Craig
as Mackenzie
Kelly Lynch
as Jean
Laura Marano
as Young Jackie
Brad Renfro
as Stranger
Mackenzie Phillips
as Nurse Harding
Brendan Coyle
as Damon
Steven Mackintosh
as Dr. Hopkins
Jason Lewis
as Police Officer
Jonah Lotan
as Intern

Crew

John Maybury
Director
George Clooney
Producer
Steven Soderbergh
Producer
Peter Guber
Producer
Marc Rocco
Screen Story
Massy Tadjedin
Screenwriter
Tom Bleecker
Screen Story
Peter Deming
Cinematographer
Brian Eno
Composer (Music Score)
Emma E. Hickox
Editor
Alan Macdonald
Production Designer
Marc Frydman
Co-producer
Andreas Schmid
Co-producer
Donald C. McKeon
Co-producer
Philip McKeon
Co-producer
Marc Rocco
Co-producer
Kia Jam
Co-producer
Andreas Grosch
Executive Producer
Ori Marmur
Executive Producer
Jennifer Fox
Executive Producer
Mark Cuban
Executive Producer
Ben Cosgrove
Executive Producer
Todd Wagner
Executive Producer
Peter E. Strauss
Executive Producer
Alan Grosch
Executive Producer
Doug Hall
Costume Designer
Colin Nicolson
Sound/Sound Designer
Karen Richards
First Assistant Director
Peter Mcaleese
Co-Executive Producer
Advertisement