Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: Now

Ishtar Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Considered one of the great box-office turkeys of its decade, Ishtar was an attempt by writer/director [[Performer~P101817~Elaine May~elainemay]] and stars [[Performer~P94585~Dustin Hoffman~dustinhoffman]] and [[Performer~P81105~Warren Beatty~warrenbeatty]] to do a modern-day road picture in the style of the much-loved [[Performer~P33168~Bob Hope~bobhope]] and [[Performer~P15874~Bing Crosby~bingcrosby]] comedy classics. [[Performer~P81105~Beatty~warrenbeatty]] is Lyle Rogers, a dimwitted songwriter who befriends and partners with Chuck Clarke ([[Performer~P94585~Hoffman~dustinhoffman]]), who is only slightly more intelligent but every bit as untalented. Together the duo dreams of becoming a big-time lounge act, but their songs, with titles like "That a Lawnmower Can Do All That," are unintentionally hilarious. Chuck becomes suicidal, but just when it seems they'll never strike it rich, the boys are offered a shady gig at a North African hotel, entertaining U.S. troops stationed in the tiny nation of Ishtar. On their way to accept the job, Lyle, Chuck, and their blind camel are sidetracked by a mysterious woman ([[Performer~P374~Isabelle Adjani~isabelleadjani]]) and a scheming CIA agent ([[Performer~P28942~Charles Grodin~charlesgrodin]]), who are involved in a rebellion against the country's emir. The memorable songs crafted by Chuck and Lyle were written by actor and composer [[Performer~P218896~Paul Williams~paulwilliams]]. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:May 15, 1987

Cast

Warren Beatty
as Lyle Rogers
Dustin Hoffman
as Chuck Clarke
Isabelle Adjani
as Shirra Assel
Charles Grodin
as Jim Harrison
Jack Weston
as Marty Freed, Talent Agent
Tess Harper
as Willa
Carol Kane
as Carol
Aharon Ipalé
as Emir Yousef
Fred Melamed
as Caid of Assari
Nadim Sawalha
as Rag Shop Owner
Sumar Khan
as Ishtari,Gunrunner
Julie Garfield
as Dorothy
Eddy Nedari
as Mohamed, The Camel Seller
Maati Zaari
as Porter
Stefan Gryff
as KGB Agent
Bouhaddane Larbi
as Taxi Driver
Haluk Bilginer
as Guerilla Leader
Arthur Brauss
as German Gunrunner
Warren Clarke
as English Gunrunner
Matt Frewer
as CIA Agent
Mark Ryan
as Screamin' Honker
George Masri
as Mohamed, The Camel Seller
Neil Zevnik
as CIA Agent
David Margulies
as Mr. Clarke
Abe Kroll
as Mr. Thomopoulos
Howard Feuer
Aziz Ben Driss
as Waiter at Chez Casablanca
Herb Gardner
as Rabbi Pierce
Phillip Schopper
as Waiter
Bill Moor
as U.S. Consul
Bruce Gordon
as Screamin' Honker
J.C. Cutler
as Omar
Bob Girolami
as Bartender
Alex Hyde-White
as CIA Agent
Adam Hussein
as Mohamed, The Camel Seller
Ron Berglas
as CIA Agent
Bill Bailey
as Gen. Westlake
Alexei Jawdokimov
as KGB Agent
John Freudenheim
as Screamin Honker
Rose Arrick
as Mrs. Clarke

Crew

Elaine May
Director
Warren Beatty
Producer
Elaine May
Screenwriter
Vittorio Storaro
Cinematographer
Elaine May
Songwriter
Dave Grusin
Composer (Music Score)
Dustin Hoffman
Songwriter
Paul Simon
Songwriter
Paul Williams
Songwriter
Harold Arlen
Featured Music
Johnny Mercer
Featured Music
Martin Charnin
Songwriter
Bert Kaempfert
Featured Music
Stephen A. Rotter
Editor
Paul Sylbert
Production Designer
Peter Childs
Art Director
Tony Reading
Art Director
Victoria Paul
Art Director
Bill Groom
Art Director
Nigel Wooll
Associate Producer
David L. MacLeod
Associate Producer
Jim Erickson
Set Designer
Alan Hicks
Set Designer
Steven Jordan
Set Designer
Anthony Powell
Costume Designer
Don French
First Assistant Director
Peter Bucossi
Stunts
George Marshall Ruge
Stunts
Vic Magnotta
Stunts
Howard Feuer
Casting
Ivan Sharrock
Sound Mixer
William Scharf
Associate Editor
Alan Boyle
Makeup
G. Mac Brown
Unit Production Manager
Robert Jiras
Makeup
Advertisement