Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Iron Curtain Details


Another of 20th Century-Fox's "drawn from today's headlines" dramas of the late 1940s, Behind the Iron Curtain (a.k.a. ) is based on the true-life defection of Soviet Embassy code specialist Igor Gouzenko. Portrayed by Dana Andrews, Gouzenko is brought to Canada under a cloud of secrecy by Russian "special agents", the better to help them in their espionage efforts. Despite the fact that he is far from Russia, Gouzenko is hounded by his suspicious superiors and denied the simplest basic rights. When Gouzenko realizes that his government will soon call him back to Russia to engage in the "class struggle," the code clerk decides to defect, stealing secret information and turning it over to the Canadian Ministry of Justice. At first, Gouzenko is ignored, but when his information is digested by the Canadian government, the authorities round up the Communist spy ring. Gouzenko and his family are put in protective custody by the Canadian government, while several of Gouzenko's Russian superiors are punished by the Communist higher-ups for allowing the clerk to slip through their hands. Filmed in a semi-documentary style, Behind the Iron Curtain is more matter-of-fact and less paranoic than other "Red scare" films of the period. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi


Dana Andrews
as Igor Gouzenko
Gene Tierney
as Anna Gouzenko
June Havoc
as Karanova
Berry Kroeger
as Grubb
Edna Best
as Mrs. Foster
Eduard Franz
as Major Kulin
Reed Hadley
as Commentator
Eula Morgan
as Mrs. Trigorin
Christopher Olsen
as Andrei
John Ridgely
as Policeman Murphy
Stefan Schnabel
as Ranov
John Shay
as Sergeyev
Frederic Tozere
as Col. Trigorin
Peter Whitney
as Winikov
Victor Wood
as Capt. Class
Robert Adler
as Wilson
John Davidson
as Secretary
Harry Carter
as Fairfield
Joe Whitehead
as William Hollis
Mauritz Hugo
as Leonard Laetz
Noel Cravat
as Bushkin
Matthew Boulton
as Inspector Burns


William Wellman
Sol C. Siegel
Milton Krims
Charles G. Clarke
Aram Khachaturian
Composer (Music Score)
Alfred Newman
Composer (Music Score)
Alfred Newman
Musical Direction/Supervision
Sergey Prokofiev
Composer (Music Score)
Mark-Lee Kirk
Art Director
Lyle Wheeler
Art Director
Bonnie Cashin
Costume Designer
Fred Sersen
Special Effects