Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Invasion of the Body Snatchers Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

This remake of the 1956 horror classic [[Feature~V25288~Invasion of the Body Snatchers~invasionofthebodysnatchers]] moves the action from small-town USA to 1970s San Francisco and replaces at least part of the original's psychological horror with special effects. Spores rain forth, unseen, from outer space, and soon strange flowers begin popping up all over the city. After bringing one of these hybrid specimens home with her one night, biologist Elizabeth Driscoll ([[Performer~P253~Brooke Adams~brookeadams]]) notices that her live-in boyfriend, Geoffrey ([[Performer~P32424~Art Hindle~arthindle]]), doesn't seem like himself; he's cold and distant and somehow just not quite there. When she turns to her friend Matthew Bennell ([[Performer~P69192~Donald Sutherland~donaldsutherland]]), a colleague at the Department of Public Health, he convinces her to see his friend Dr. Kibner ([[Performer~P104553~Leonard Nimoy~leonardnimoy]]), a pop psychologist who argues that the problem is all in Elizabeth's head. Soon, though, Matthew and Elizabeth begin to notice that people all over the city are changing subtly and inexplicably. When their friend Jack Bellicec ([[Performer~P27435~Jeff Goldblum~jeffgoldblum]]) and his wife Nancy ([[Performer~P11043~Veronica Cartwright~veronicacartwright]]) find a lifeless, half-formed doppelganger covered with plant fibers in the mud baths they own and operate, the group of friends finally begins to understand that a sinister transformation is sweeping their city. [[Performer~P101959~Kevin McCarthy~kevinmccarthy]] and [[Performer~P111406~Don Siegel~donsiegel]], respectively the star and director of the original film, have small roles in the new version, as does an unbilled [[Performer~P88530~Robert Duvall~robertduvall]]. ~ Brian J. Dillard, Rovi

  • Release date:December 20, 1978

Cast

Donald Sutherland
as Matthew Bennell
Brooke Adams
as Elizabeth Driscoll
Leonard Nimoy
as Dr. David Kibner
Veronica Cartwright
as Nancy Bellicec
Jeff Goldblum
as Jack Bellicec
Art Hindle
as Geoffrey
Kevin McCarthy
as Running Man
Jerry Walter
as Restaurant Owner
Joe Bellan
as Beggar
Robert Duvall
as Priest on Swing (uncredited)
Rose Kaufman
as Outraged Woman
Sam Hiona
as Policeman #1
Tom Dahlgren
as Detective
Tom Luddy
as Ted Hendley
Wood Moy
as Mr. Tong
Al Nalbandian
as Rodent Man
Don Siegel
as Taxi Driver
Garry Goodrow
as Boccardo

Crew

Philip Kaufman
Director
Robert Solo
Producer
Jack Finney
Book Author
W.D. Richter
Screenwriter
Michael Chapman
Cinematographer
Denny Zeitlin
Composer (Music Score)
Charles Rosen
Production Designer
Doug von Koss
Set Designer
Russ Hessey
Special Effects
Mary Goldberg
Casting
Alan Levine
Production Manager
Thomas R. Burman
Makeup Special Effects
Advertisement