Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Into the West Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P104358~Mike Newell~mikenewell]] directs [[Performer~P111165~Jim Sheridan~jimsheridan]]'s screenplay (based on a story by [[Performer~P214015~Tim Palmer~timpalmer]]) in this enchanting and magical modern-day fairy tale. [[Performer~P10031~Gabriel Byrne~gabrielbyrne]] plays Papa Reilly, a widower who lives with his two young sons, Ossie ([[Performer~P195947~Ciaran Fitzgerald~ciaranfitzgerald]]) and Tito ([[Performer~P14597~Ruaidhri Conroy~ruaidhriconroy]]), in the slums of Dublin. There seems to be no hope for their bleak existence until the children's grandfather ([[Performer~P121741~David Kelly~davidkelly]]) arrives. Accompanying him is a beautiful and imposing white stallion named Tir na nOg, a magical creature from ancient Irish legends. The stallion takes a shine to the boys and they love the horse in return. But a legion of corrupt police plot to impound the horse for the purpose of selling it to a rich businessman. Ossie and Tito sneak off to rescue Tir na nOg. Grabbing the stallion, they get their father and, as the police chase after them, they make their way west. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:March 25, 1992

Cast

Gabriel Byrne
as Papa Reilly
Ellen Barkin
as Kathleen
Ciaran Fitzgerald
as Ossie
Ruaidhri Conroy
as Tito
David Kelly
as Grandfather
Patrick Doyle
as m
Jamie Leonard
as ad
Tony Rohr
as Traveller
Dave Finnegan
as Man Selling Car
Anita Reeves
as Mrs. Murphy
Owen O'Gorman
as Cafferty
Joe Pilkington
as Detective
Brendan Gleeson
as Inspector Bolger
Derry Power
as Hotel Clerk
Frank O'Sullivan
as Policeman
Clive Geraghty
as Smiley
Johnny Murphy
as Tracker
John Kavanagh
as Hartnett
Colm Meaney
as Barreller
Jim Norton
as Superintendent O'Mara
Sean Lawlor
as Policeman With Riot
Stanley Townsend
as Rico
Mark O'Regan
as Welfare Man
Tim McDonnell
as Shopkeeper
Liam Cunningham
as Younger Policeman
Kevin Reynolds
as Reporter
Pauline Delaney
as Nan Connors
John Hubbard
Ros Hubbard
Dave Duffy
as Morrissey
Phelim Drew
as Sergeant Brophy
Dave Carey
as Resident
Ray McBride
as Mr. Murphy
Gladys Sheehan
as Woman in Lift
Joan Sheehy
as Woman with Pram

Crew

Mike Newell
Director
Jonathan Cavendish
Producer
Guy East
Producer
Tim Palmer
Producer
Jim Sheridan
Screenwriter
Michael Pearce
Screen Story
Newton Thomas Sigel
Cinematographer
Patrick Doyle
Composer (Music Score)
Peter Boyle
Editor
Jamie Leonard
Production Designer
Mark Geraghty
Art Director
Susan Slonaker
Co-producer
Gabriel Byrne
Associate Producer
Bob Weinstein
Executive Producer
James Mitchell
Executive Producer
Consolata Boyle
Costume Designer
Harvey Weinstein
Co-Executive Producer
Advertisement