Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

International House Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Hollywood responded to the exigencies of the Depression with such glorious nonsense as International House. The plot is motivated by a revolutionary television device called the Radioscope, which its Chinese inventor ([[Performer~P8252~Edmund Breese~edmundbreese]]) is offering to the highest bidder. All interested parties are obliged to converge at International House, an ultra-modern hotel in the bustling Chinese community of Wu Hu. Among those parties is American envoy [[Performer~P22072~Stu Erwin~stuarterwin]], Russian general [[Performer~P43690~Bela Lugosi~belalugosi]] (a hilarious, pratfalling performance), the general's ex-wife [[Performer~P36428~Peggy Hopkins Joyce~peggyhopkinsjoyce]] (a much-married showgirl of the era, who like [[Performer~P25448~Zsa Zsa Gabor~zsazsagabor]] was famous for being famous), and that celebrated aviator Professor Quail, better known as [[Performer~P23388~W.C. Fields~wcfields]]. The lunacy begins even before Fields arrives, thanks to the antics of the hotel's doctor [[Performer~P9701~George Burns~georgeburns]] and nurse [[Performer~P1015~Gracie Allen~gracieallen]]. When [[Performer~P22072~Erwin~stuarterwin]] comes down with the measles (he is always struck down by a childhood disease whenever he's about to marry his fiancee [[Performer~P45540~Sari Maritza~saramaritza]]), the hotel is quarantined. The guests make the most of their enforced stay by watching the many variety acts broadcast over the radioscope device: [[Performer~P72689~Rudy Vallee~rudyvallee]], singing a love song to his megaphone; Baby [[Performer~P45461~Rose Marie~rosemarie]] (the same), belying her 11 years by belting forth a hotcha jazz number; radio humorists Stoopnagle and Budd, showing off their own goofy inventions; and [[Performer~P10087~Cab Calloway~cabcalloway]], singing a paean to marijuana titled "Reefer Man" (only in recent years has this peppy number been seen with any regularity on television). There's also an elaborate production number on the dance floor of the hotel, featuring [[Performer~P32938~Sterling Holloway~sterlingholloway]] and a bevy of beauties dressed as cups and saucers. Once [[Performer~P23388~Fields~wcfields]] drops in via his art-deco autogyro, the film is firmly in his pudgy hands. [[Performer~P22072~Erwin~stuarterwin]] outbids the others for the radioscope, while [[Performer~P23388~Fields~wcfields]] escapes in his aircraft with [[Performer~P36428~Peggy Hopkins Joyce~peggyhopkinsjoyce]] in tow (she keeps insisting that she's sitting on something, whereupon Fields replies "I lost mine in the stock market"). A truly unique filmgoing experience, International House is a must-see for any aficionado of 1930s musical comedies. PS: The film's now-famous "outtake," showing [[Performer~P23388~Fields~wcfields]] calmly advising the cast and crew not to panic while the set is rocked by a California earthquake, was actually staged several days after the genuine quake. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:May 27, 1933

Cast

W.C. Fields
as Prof. Quail
Stuart Erwin
as Tommy Nash
George Burns
as Dr. Burns
Gracie Allen
as Nurse Allen
Bela Lugosi
as Gen. Petronovich
Edmund Breese
as Dr. Wong
Lumsden Hare
as Sir Mortimer Fortescue
Franklin Pangborn
as Hotel Manager
Rudy Vallee
as Himself
Edwin Stanley
as Mr. Rollins
Harrison Greene
as Herr von Baden
Henry Sedley
as Serge Borsky
Sterling Holloway
as Coffee Mug
Jeanne Marie
Andre Cheron
as Guest
Norman Ainsley
as Ticket Manager
Rose Marie
as Herself

Crew

Edward Sutherland
Director
Francis Martin
Screenwriter
Walter de Leon
Screenwriter
Ernest Haller
Cinematographer
Leo Robin
Composer (Music Score)
Leo Robin
Songwriter
Ralph Rainger
Composer (Music Score)
Ralph Rainger
Songwriter
Travis Banton
Costume Designer
Advertisement