Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Internal Affairs Details


In this glossy L.A. crime drama by Mike Figgis, Andy Garcia stars as Sgt. Raymond Avila, a cop who just joined the Internal Affairs division of the L.A.P.D. An investigation into police corruption has led Avila and his partner, Sgt. Amy Wallace (Laurie Metcalf), to Officer Dennis Peck (Richard Gere). Avila suspects something about Peck from the beginning; his influence and dominance over others seems to extend further than the reach of his badge. When officers who wish to testify against Peck start dying, the depth of his corruption becomes increasingly clear; at his disposal, he has an army of cops and criminals alike. He even agrees to assassinate a sleazy businessman's own parents, and humiliates the businessman while they make the deal. In his drive to dominate others, Peck attempts to seduce almost every woman around him and is obsessed with children and fatherhood. Peck is most dangerous when the investigation threatens his territory and his extended family; he stalks Avila and turns him against his wife (Nancy Travis). ~ Jonathan E. Laxamana, Rovi

  • Release date:January 12, 1990


Richard Gere
as Dennis Peck
Andy Garcia
as Sgt. Raymond Avilla
Nancy Travis
as Kathleen Avila
Laurie Metcalf
as Sgt. Amy Wallace
William Baldwin
as Van Stretch
Richard Bradford
as Lt. Sgt. Grieb
Annabella Sciorra
as Heather Peck
Michael Beach
as Dorian Fletcher
Faye Grant
as Penny Stretch
Katherine Borowitz
as Tova Arrocas
Joseph Mazzello
Harry Murphy
as Surgeon
Julio Oscar Mechoso
as Cousin Gregory
Billie Neal
as Dorian's Wife
Scott Lincoln
as Freddy
Richard Whitaker
as Marksman
Deryn Warren
as TV Reporter
Valerie Wildman
as May
Jimmy Ortega
as Oscar
Marco Rodriguez
as Demetrio
Ron Vawter
as Jaegar
Arlen Dean Snyder
as Capt. Riordan
Elijah Wood
as Sean
Susan Forristal
as Lolly
Victoria Dillard
as Kee
Carrie Frazier
John Getz
as Teeters
Xander Berkeley
as Rudy Mohr
Justin Derosa
as Latino Driver
John Capodice
as Chief Healy
Pamella D'Pella
as Cheryl
Helen Lin
as Dina
Tyde Kierney
as Sgt. Trafficante
John Kapelos
as Steven Arrocas
Dinah Lenney
as Newscaster
Shani Ginsberg
Allan Havey
as Judson
Waldemar Kalinowski
as Surgeon #2
Lew Hopson
as Buster
Brian Johnson
as Busboy


Mike Figgis
David Streit
Frank Mancuso, Jr.
René Malo
Henry Bean
John A. Alonzo
Anthony Marinelli
Composer (Music Score)
Mike Figgis
Composer (Music Score)
Waldemar Kalinowski
Production Designer
Pierre David
Executive Producer
René Malo
Executive Producer
Florence Fellman
Set Designer
Clare Scarpulla
Set Designer
Rudy Dillon
Costume Designer
Paul Staples
Special Effects
Carrie Frazier
Shani Ginsberg
Julie Purcell
David Streit
Co-Executive Producer