Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Innocent Blood Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

An uneven but entertaining blend of graphic horror and black comedy from [[Performer~P98623~John Landis~johnlandis]], very much in the mode of the director's successful [[Feature~V2065~An American Werewolf in London~anamericanwerewolfinlondon]]. French actress [[Performer~P55020~Anne Parillaud~anneparillaud]] -- star of [[Performer~P81731~Luc Besson~lucbesson]]'s acclaimed thriller [[Feature~V74893~La Femme Nikita~lafemmenikita]] -- plays Marie, a lithe and lovely vampire with a conscience who will not take "innocent blood" and maintains a low profile by dining exclusively on criminals and lowlifes. She finds a virtual smorgasbord in Pittsburgh's criminal underworld, arriving in the thick of a bloody mob war sparked by ruthless kingpin Sal Macelli ([[Performer~P42988~Robert Loggia~robertloggia]]). After preying on one of Macelli's hoods ([[Performer~P54860~Chazz Palminteri~chazzpalminteri]]), Marie fumbles her attack on the boss himself and he manages to escape, eventually transforming into a vampire himself. Macelli soon comes to appreciate his new superhuman condition and hatches a diabolical scheme to control the syndicates by turning his underlings into vampires -- including his beleaguered lawyer, Emmanuel Bergman ([[Performer~P60156~Don Rickles~donrickles]]). Marie, faced with a new and powerful undead enemy, is forced to take matters into her own claws. To this end she enlists the reluctant aid (and eventual affection) of undercover cop Joe Gennaro ([[Performer~P39765~Anthony LaPaglia~anthonylapaglia]]), whose cover has just been leaked to the press, making him a target for Macelli and his growing army of blood drinkers. Landis has crafted a dark and brooding film, pumped up with bouts of extreme gore and gangland violence -- but where [[Feature~V158800~American Werewolf~anamericanwerewolfinparis]]'s occasional comic touches helped to ground the story and give the "straight" horror scenes more punch, most attempts at humor here seem jarring and out of place. The film's highlights come from numerous horror in-jokes, including cameos from [[Performer~P107427~Sam Raimi~samraimi]], [[Performer~P80708~Clive Barker~clivebarker]], [[Performer~P79899~Dario Argento~darioargento]] and [[Performer~P58232~Linnea Quigley~linneaquigley]]; [[Performer~P60156~Rickles~donrickles]]' explosive death scene ranks among the weirdest in cinema history. ~ Cavett Binion, Rovi

  • Release date:September 25, 1992

Cast

Anne Parillaud
as Marie
Robert Loggia
as Sal "The Shark" Macelli
Anthony LaPaglia
as Joe Gennaro
David Proval
as Lenny
Don Rickels
Don Rickles
as Emmanuel Bergman
Chazz Palminteri
as Tony
Rocco Sisto
as Gilly
Kim Coates
as Ray
Tony Lip
as Frank
Christopher Lee
as Count Dracula
Marshall Bell
as Marsh
Angela Bassett
as US Attorney Sinclair
Yancey Arias
as Coroner's Assistant
Gilbert Cates
as Dog Boy
Tony Sirico
as Jacko
Robert Walker, Jr.
as Bruno
Dario Argento
as Paramedic
Tom Savini
as News Photographer
Sam Raimi
as Roma Meats Man
Frank Oz
as Pathologist
Luis Guzman
as Morales
Kim Melton
as Melody Lounge Dancer
Ron Roth
as Gus
Sharon Howard-Field
Bob Minor
as Bus Driver
Rick Avery
as Cab Driver
Regina Poole
as Melody Lounge Dancer
Pitty Jennings
as Reporter
Tammy Ulm
as Melody Lounge Dancer
Tracy Rolen
as Meloday Lounge Dancer
Christina Bowers
as Melody Lounge Dancer
Bela Lugosi
as Count Dracula
Christina Jimenez
as Melody Lounge Dancer
Vic Noto
as Tommy
Katrina Witt
as Melody Lounge Dancer
Teri Weigel
as Melody Lounge Dancer
Maribe Zolli
as Melody Lounge Dancer
Charlie Gomorra
as Gorilla
Michael Wolk
as Surgeon
Russ Cochran
as Panhandler
Michael Ritchie
as Night Watchman
Lamont Arnold
as Morgue Desk Man
Leo Burmeister
as Flinton
Rohn Thomas
as Coroner
Harry Gions
as Orderly
David Earle
as Reporter
Linnea Quigley
as Nurse
Jerry Lyden
as Vinnie
Peter Cushing
as Van Helsing
Bernard Hocke
as Motel Clerk
Robin Place
as Melody Lounge Dancer
Elaine Kagan
as Frannie Bergman
Marina Durrell
as Nurse
Kim Currow
as Melody Lounge Dancer
Forrest J. Ackerman
as Stolen Car Man

Crew

John Landis
Director
Lee Rich
Producer
Leslie Belzberg
Producer
Michael Wolk
Screenwriter
Mac Ahlberg
Cinematographer
Ira Newborn
Composer (Music Score)
Dale Beldin
Editor
Michael Wolk
Associate Producer
Jonathan Sheinberg
Executive Producer
Peg Cummings
Set Designer
Deborah Nadoolman
Costume Designer
Syd Dutton
Special Effects
Bill Taylor
Special Effects
Branscombe Richmond
Stunts
Tom Elliott
Stunts
Don Pulford
Stunts
Andy Gill
Stunts
Troy Brown
Stunts
Brad Orrison
Stunts
Buck McDancer
Stunts
Clay Boss
Stunts
Bill McIntosh
Stunts
Brian Avery
Stunts
Glory Fioramonti
Stunts
Gregg Smrz
Stunts
Richard Epper
Stunts
Monty Cox
Stunts
Spiro Razatos
Stunts
Steve Hulin
Stunts
Jeannie Epper
Stunts
Jeff Cadiente
Stunts
Joni Avery
Stunts
Kurt Bryant
Stunts
Merritt Yohnka
Stunts
Sharon Howard-Field
Casting
Ron Berkeley
Makeup
Advertisement