Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Innerspace Details


Director Joe Dante infuses this science fiction comedy with the visual razzle-dazzle and manic, goofball performances typical of his cartoon-inspired sensibilities. Navy test pilot Lt. Tuck Pendleton ([[Performer~P58161~Dennis Quaid~dennisquaid]]) has volunteered for a highly dangerous medical experiment. A submersible craft, with Tuck at the controls, is to be shrunk down to molecular size and inserted into the body of a living rabbit. If successful, the test could result in radical breakthroughs in surgical techniques, but some high-tech thieves attempt to steal Tuck and his ship while both are in miniature form. Enter Jack Putter ([[Performer~P65439~Martin Short~martinshort]]), a mild-mannered, hypochondriac retail store clerk, a nerd who suddenly finds himself injected with Tuck and his tiny ship. Now poor Jack's got to rise above his mundane existence to help an American hero get back to safety, while also trying to reunite Tuck with his beautiful estranged girlfriend Lydia (Meg Ryan). Innerspace (1987) won an Academy Award for Best Visual Effects. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:July 1, 1987


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Harley Jessup Best Visual Effects 1987 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Dennis Muren Best Visual Effects 1987 Winner


Dennis Quaid
as Lt. Tuck Pendelton
Martin Short
as Jack Putter
Meg Ryan
as Lydia Maxwell
Kevin McCarthy
as Victor Scrimshaw
Fiona Lewis
as Dr. Margaret Canker
Henry Gibson
as Mr. Wormwood
Vernon Wells
as Mr. Igoe
Robert Picardo
as The Cowboy
Wendy Schaal
as Wendy
Harold Sylvester
as Peter Blanchard
William Schallert
as Dr. Greenbush
John Hora
as Ozzie Wexler
Mark L. Taylor
as Dr. Niles
Orson Bean
as Lydia's Editor
Kevin Hooks
as Duane
Kathleen Freeman
as Dream Lady
Archie Hahn III
as Messenger
Kenneth Tobey
as Man in Restroom
Christine Avila
as Lab Technician
Chuck Jones
as Supermarket Customer
Jeffrey Boam
as Lydia's Interview
Andrea Martin
as Waiting Room Patient
Rance Howard
as Supermarket Customer
Frank Miller
as Scrimshaw's Henchman
Neil Ross
as Pod Computer
Charles Aidman
as Speaker at Banquet
Jason Laskay
as Scrimshaw's Henchman
Dick Miller
as Cab Driver
Jenny Gago
as Lab Technician
Joe Flaherty
as Waiting Room Patient
Grainger Hines
as Rusty
Terry McGovern
as Travel Agent
Herb Mitchell
as Camera Store Clerk
Richard McGonagle
as Cop
Alan Blumenfeld
as Man with Camera
John Miranda
as Man in Elevator
Robert Gray
as Lab Assault Henchman
Laura Waterbury
as Supermarket Customer


Joe Dante
Frank Marshall
Kathleen Kennedy
Michael Finnell
Charles "Chip" Proser
Screen Story
Charles "Chip" Proser
Jeffrey Boam
Jerry Goldsmith
Composer (Music Score)
Kent Beyda
James Spencer
Production Designer
Charles "Chip" Proser
Peter Guber
Executive Producer
Kathleen Kennedy
Executive Producer
Frank Marshall
Executive Producer
Steven Spielberg
Executive Producer
Jon Peters
Executive Producer
Judy Cammer
Set Designer
Gene Nollman
Set Designer
Rosanna Norton
Costume Designer
Steve Maslow
Sound/Sound Designer
Rob Bottin
Special Effects
Dennis Muren
Special Effects
Pat Kehoe
First Assistant Director
Mike Fenton
Judy Taylor
Jane Feinberg
Warren Hamilton
Sound Editor
David Worth
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Rob Bottin
Makeup Special Effects
Betty Moos
Assistant to the Director
Dennis Muren
Special Effects Supervisor