Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Inland Empire Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Cinema of the surreal icon [[Performer~P100454~David Lynch~davidlynch]] follows up the success of his critically acclaimed 2001 feature [[Feature~V246240~Mulholland Drive~mulhollanddr]] with this dark mystery, shot on a handheld Sony PD150 digital video recorder. It is the tale of an actress whose personality becomes increasingly fragmented as she delves ever deeper into her work for a high-profile filmmaker. Kingsley ([[Performer~P34545~Jeremy Irons~jeremyirons]]) is a director looking to adapt for the screen a Polish gypsy folktale that was previously stalled when the two leads were viciously murdered. Having offered the female lead to devoted actress Nikki ([[Performer~P18704~Laura Dern~lauradern]]), Kingsley warns her male co-star, Devon ([[Performer~P200875~Justin Theroux~justintheroux]]), to maintain his professional distance, as Nikki's husband ([[Performer~P264212~Peter J. Lucas~peterjlucas]]) is known to be notoriously possessive. As the passionate co-stars quickly cross the line and become lovers, Nikki's slowly slipping sense of reality causes her to eventually become lost in her character while the mysterious story of a Polish couple unfurls, and a trio of giant stage-bound rabbits (voices of [[Performer~P75056~Naomi Watts~naomiwatts]], [[Performer~P13920~Scott Coffey~scottcoffey]], and [[Performer~P32007~Laura Harring~lauraelenaharring]]) lounge around on the sofa and tend to their domestic duties. Shot over the course of two and a half years and without a formalized script, [[Performer~P100454~Lynch~davidlynch]]'s hallucinogenic look at a doomed film project features all of the abstract imagery and strange symbolism that have long made the director a favorite of film fans who embrace his disorienting approach to unconventional storytelling. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:December 15, 2006

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
National Society of Film Critics Laura Dern Best Actress 2006 Nominee
Toronto Film Critics Association Laura Dern Best Actress 2007 Nominee

Crew

David Lynch
Director
David Lynch
Producer
Mary Sweeney
Producer
David Lynch
Screenwriter
Odd Geir Sæther
Cinematographer
Angelo Badalamenti
Composer (Music Score)
David Lynch
Editor
Christina Wilson
Production Designer
Christina Wilson
Art Director
Wojciech Wolniak
Art Director
Laura Dern
Co-producer
Jeremy Alter
Co-producer
Erick Crary
Associate Producer
Sabrina S. Sutherland
Associate Producer
Jay Aaseng
Associate Producer
Marek Zydowicz
Executive Producer
Heidi Bivens
Costume Designer
Karen Baird
Costume Designer
David Lynch
Sound/Sound Designer
Johanna Ray
Casting
Advertisement