Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Indiscreet Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Adapted by [[Performer~P98079~Norman Krasna~normankrasna]] from his play [[Feature~V148943~Kind Sir~sir]], [[Feature~V162962~Indiscreet~indiscreet]] stars [[Performer~P5652~Ingrid Bergman~ingridbergman]] as a wealthy actress and [[Performer~P28204~Cary Grant~carygrant]] as an international financial wizard. While Grant is visiting London, [[Performer~P5652~Bergman~ingridbergman]]'s sister [[Performer~P10341~Phyllis Calvert~phylliscalvert]] and brother-in-law [[Performer~P55075~Cecil Parker~cecilparker]] introduce [[Performer~P28204~Grant~carygrant]] to [[Performer~P5652~Bergman~ingridbergman]]. Because he feels he has no time for marriage, [[Performer~P28204~Grant~carygrant]] pretends to be married to avoid romantic tangles. [[Performer~P5652~Bergman~ingridbergman]], however, finds the prospect of an affair with a married man to be quite exhilarating. When she discovers the truth, [[Performer~P5652~Bergman~ingridbergman]] gets even with the now-smitten [[Performer~P28204~Grant~carygrant]] by faking a romance with an ex-boy friend--ordering luckless chauffeur [[Performer~P39163~David Kossoff~davidkossoff]] to pose as her beau. A comedy by grownups, about grownups and for grownups (at least by 1958 standards), [[Feature~V162962~Indiscreet~indiscreet]] proved to be far more successful as a film than as a stage play. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Ingrid Bergman Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1958 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Cary Grant Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1958 Nominee

Cast

Cary Grant
as Philip Adams
Ingrid Bergman
as Anna Kalman
Cecil Parker
as Alfred Munson
Phyllis Calvert
as Margaret Munson
David Kossoff
as Carl Banks
Megs Jenkins
as Doris Banks
Middleton Woods
as Finleigh's Clerk
Diane Clare
Eric Francis
Frank Hawkins
Richard Vernon

Crew

Stanley Donen
Director
Stanley Donen
Producer
Norman Krasna
Play Author
Norman Krasna
Screenwriter
Freddie Young
Cinematographer
Jimmy Van Heusen
Songwriter
Muir Mathieson
Musical Direction/Supervision
Richard Rodney Bennett
Composer (Music Score)
Sammy Cahn
Songwriter
Jack Harris
Editor
Don Ashton
Art Director
Roy Parkinson
Production Manager
John O'Gorman
Makeup
Advertisement