Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Independence Day Details


A group of intrepid humans attempts to save the Earth from vicious extraterrestrials in this extremely popular science-fiction adventure. Borrowing liberally from , , and every sci-fi invasion film inbetween, director Roland Emmerich and producer and co-writer Dean Devlin present a visually slick, fast-paced adventure filled with expensive special effects and large-scale action sequences. The story begins with the approach of a series of massive spaceships, which many on Earth greet with open arms, looking forward to the first contact with alien life. Unfortunately, these extraterrestrials have not come in peace, and they unleash powerful weapons that destroy most of the world's major cities. Thrown into chaos, the survivors struggle to band together and put up a last-ditch resistance in order to save the human race. As this is a Hollywood film, this effort is led by a group of scrappy Americans, including a computer genius who had foreseen the alien's evil intent (Jeff Goldblum), a hot-shot jet pilot (Will Smith), and the President of the United States (Bill Pullman). While some critics objected to the film's lack of originality and lapses in logic, the combination of grand visual spectacle and crowd-pleasing storytelling proved irresistible to audiences, resulting in an international smash hit. ~ Judd Blaise, Rovi

  • Release date:July 3, 1996


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Volker Engel Best Visual Effects 1996 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Jeff Wexler Best Sound 1996 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Douglas Hans Smith Best Visual Effects 1996 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Bob Beemer Best Sound 1996 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Bill W. Benton Best Sound 1996 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Chris Carpenter Best Sound 1996 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Clay Pinney Best Visual Effects 1996 Winner


Will Smith
as Capt. Steven Hiller
Bill Pullman
as President Thomas J. Whitmore
Jeff Goldblum
as David Levinson
Mary McDonnell
as Marilyn Whitmore
Judd Hirsch
as Julius Levinson
Margaret Colin
as Constance Spano
Carlos Lara
as Farmer Kid
Carlos Lacamara
as Radar Operator
Mike Monteleone
as Butler
Jon Mathews
as Thomson
David Pressman
as Whitmore's Aide
Michael Winther
as Co-Worker #3
Mae Whitman
as Patricia Whitmore
James Duval
as Miguel Casse
Raphael Sbarge
as Commander/Tech
Dan Lauria
as Commanding Officer
John Storey
as Dr. Isaacs
Kevin Sifuentes
as Tank Commander
Pat Skipper
as Redneck
Adam Baldwin
as Major Mitchell
Devon Gummersall
as Philip
Jay Acovone
as Area 51 Guard
James Rebhorn
as Albert Nimziki
Anthony Crivello
as Lincoln
Randy Quaid
as Russell Casse
Eleanor Clift
as Herself
Frank Novak
as Teddy
Tim Kelleher
as Technician
Frank Welker
as Special Vocal Effects
Kiersten Warren
as Tiffany
Rance Howard
as Chaplain
Andrew Keegan
as Older Boy
Jeffrey Daniel Phillips
as B-2 Pilot
Robert Pine
as Chief of Staff
James Wong
as SETI Tech One
Elston Ridgle
as Soldier
Lisa Star
as Woman on Roof
Wayne Wilderson
as Area 51 Technician
Jack Germond
as Himself
Jack Moore
as Mechanic
Deenie Dakota
as Boomer
Lee Strauss
as Elvis Fanatic
Ross Lacy
as Aide
Malcom Danare
as Intellectual on Roof
Greg Collins
as Military Aide
Joyce Cohen
as Kim Peters
Joe Fowler
as Reporter
Mirron E. Willis
as Aide
Eric Paskel
as Radar Technician
Vivian Palermo
as Technician/Medical Assistant
Thomas F. Duffy
as Lieutenant
Adam Tomei
as Sailor
Brent Spiner
as Dr. Brakish Okun
Jerry Dunphy
as Himself
Thom Barry
as SETI Tech Two
Leland Orser
as Techy/Med Asst #1
Jim Piddock
as Reginald
Harry Connick, Jr.
as Capt. Jimmy Wilder
Lisa Jakub
as Alicia Casse
Giuseppe Andrews
as Troy Casse
Lyman Ward
as Secret Service Guy
John McLaughlin
as Himself
Harvey Fierstein
as Marty Gilbert
Sayed Badreya
as Arab Pilot
John Capodice
as Mario
Richard Pachorek
as LAPD Helicopter Pilot
Mark Thompson
as Video Newscaster
Matt Pashkow
as 2nd Officer
Kimberly Beck
as Housewife
Nelson Mashita
as Japanese Tech
Marisa Morell
as Co-Worker 2
Fred Barnes
as Himself
Randy Oglesby
as Mechanic
Steve Giannelli
as Radar Technician
Troy Willis
as Secret Serviceman
Bill Smitrovich
as Capt. Watson
Vivica A. Fox
as Jasmine Dubrow
Richard Speight, Jr.
as Ed
Robert Loggia
as Gen. William Grey


Roland Emmerich
Dean Devlin
Dean Devlin
Roland Emmerich
Karl Walter Lindenlaub
David Arnold
Composer (Music Score)
David Brenner
Oliver Scholl
Production Designer
Patrick Tatopoulos
Production Designer
Peter Winther
Associate Producer
Ute Emmerich
Executive Producer
Roland Emmerich
Executive Producer
William Fay
Executive Producer
Julia Levine
Set Designer
Jim Erickson
Set Designer
Sean Haworth
Set Designer
Pamela Klamer
Set Designer
Joseph Porro
Costume Designer
Chris Carpenter
Sound/Sound Designer
Jeff Wexler
Sound/Sound Designer
Sergio Mimica-Gezzan
First Assistant Director
Rick Barker
Eddie Matthews
Chris Howell
Tom Morga
Norman Douglass
Peter Bucossi
Dana Hee
Allan Graf
Ray Lykins
Frank Ferrara
Jery Hewitt
Wendy Kurtzman
Josh Rose
Digital Effects
Bob Beemer
Re-Recording Mixer
Volker Engel
Visual Effects
Dan Bradley
Stunts Coordinator
Douglas Hans Smith
Special Effects Supervisor
Katalin Elek
Dean Devlin
Second Unit Director