Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

I'm Gonna Git You Sucka! Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P116125~Keenen Ivory Wayans~keenenivorywayans]] wrote, directed, and starred in this hilarious parody of blaxploitation films in the comedy I'm Gonna Git You Sucka. Jack Spade ([[Performer~P116125~Wayans~keenenivorywayans]]) returns home from a hitch in the army to find his brother Junebug has died from an overdose of gold chains, leaving his widow Cheryl ([[Performer~P42189~Dawnn Lewis~dawnnlewis]]) and mother Ma Bell ([[Performer~P20241~Ja'net DuBois~janetdubois]]) alone to fend for themselves. Ma throws two inept thugs ([[Performer~P75075~Damon Wayans~damonwayans]] and [[Performer~P30348~Kadeem Hardison~kadeemhardison]]) sent by the evil white guy Mr. Big ([[Performer~P73373~John Vernon~johnvernon]]) down a flight of stairs. Junebug owes $5,000 to Mr. Big for his gold-chain addiction and tries to force Cheryl into prostitution to pay off the debt. Jack recruits his old friend to go after Mr. Big to seek revenge. John Slade ([[Performer~P11553~Bernie Casey~berniecasey]]), Hammer ([[Performer~P31228~Isaac Hayes~isaachayes]]), Slammer ([[Performer~P83235~Jim Brown~jimbrown]]) Kung Fu Joe ([[Performer~P217596~Steve James~stevejames]]) and the former Pimp Of The Year Flyguy ([[Performer~P22671~Antonio Fargas~antoniofargas]]) join up with Jack to avenge his brother' death. [[Performer~P60918~Chris Rock~chrisrock]] makes a brief appearance as the annoying customer who risks his life by irking rib joint owner Hammer. Funny and fast paced, the writing, acting, sight gags and cameos by [[Performer~P114469~Robert Townsend~roberttownsend]], [[Performer~P42647~Peggy Lipton~peggylipton]], [[Performer~P76410~Clarence Williams III~clarencewilliamsiii]], [[Performer~P57106~Eve Plumb~eveplumb]] (Jan from [[Feature~V134313~The Brady Bunch~thebradybunchmovie]]), [[Performer~P75076~Kim Wayans~kimwayans]], and [[Performer~P54516~Gary Owens~garyowens]] makes this a must-see for any comedy fan. ~ Dan Pavlides, Rovi

  • Release date:December 1, 1988

Cast

Keenen Ivory Wayans
as Jack Spade
Bernie Casey
as John Slade
Antonio Fargas
as Flyguy
Steve James
as Kung Fu Joe
Isaac Hayes
as Hammer
Jim Brown
as Slammer
Ja'net DuBois
as Ma Bell
Dawnn Lewis
as Cheryl
John Vernon
as Mr. Big
Tom Wright
as Brothel Man
Tony Cox
as Wayne Evans
Clarence Williams III
as Kalinga
David Alan Grier
as Newsman
Peter McCarthy
as Weasel
Wren T. Brown
as Big Brim Pimp #2
Carl Craig
as Man in Love
Peggy Lipton
Hawthorne James
as One Eyed Sam
Homeselle Joy
as Mourner
Chris Rock
as Rib Joint Customer
Damon Wayans
as Leonard
Shawn Wayans
as Pedestrian
Jester Hairston
as Pop
Jim Daniels
as Slade's Theme Musician
John Witherspoon
as Reverend
King Cotton
as Slade's Theme Musician
Liza Cruzat
as Bimbo
Anne-Marie Johnson
as Cherry
Marilyn Coleman
as Funeral Mourner
Michael Goldfinger
as Sergeant
Robert Colbert
as Farrell
Roy Fegan
as Dead Pimp
Bentley Evans
as Crowd Member
Vickilyn Reynolds
as Sadie
Ariana Richards
as Little Girl
Kadeem Hardison
as Willie
Eugene Robert Glazer
as Officer
Robin Harris
as Bartender at Sam's
Tommy Morgan Jr.
as Referee
Bobby McGee
as Pimp
Ludie Washington
as Big Brim Bartender
Kim Wayans
as Nightclub Singer
Gary Owens
as Himself
Jesse Aragon
Marc Figueroa
as Knuckles
Scott Morris
as Jack's Theme Musicians: BDP
Richard McGregor
as Gang Member
Michael Conn
as Officer
Nancy Cheryl Davis
as Woman
Brian Maguire
as Policeman
Charles Cozart
as Anchorman
Clu Gulager
as Lt. Baker

Crew

Keenen Ivory Wayans
Director
Raymond Katz
Producer
Eric L. Gold
Producer
Keenen Ivory Wayans
Screenwriter
Tom Richmond
Cinematographer
Michael R. Miller
Editor
Melba Farquhar
Production Designer
Catherine Hardwicke
Production Designer
Carl Craig
Co-producer
Peter McCarthy
Co-producer
Eric Barrett
Co-producer
Raymond Katz
Executive Producer
Eric L. Gold
Executive Producer
Ruth E. Carter
Costume Designer
Elliot Lewis Rosenblatt
First Assistant Director
Jim Halty
Stunts
Robi Reed
Casting
Jeanette Browning
Sound Recordist
Advertisement