Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

I'll Sleep When I'm Dead Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

For I'll Sleep When I'm Dead, director [[Performer~P94541~Mike Hodges~mikehodges]] re-teams with [[Performer~P107050~Trevor Preston~trevorpreston]], the respected British television writer with whom he made a series of documentaries for ITV back in the 1960s. The film also brings the director together again with actor [[Performer~P54491~Clive Owen~cliveowen]], the star of his previous film, [[Feature~V161662~Croupier~croupier]], which signaled [[Performer~P94541~Hodges~mikehodges]]' resurgence. [[Performer~P54491~Owen~cliveowen]] plays Will Graham, a former London gangster who moved out to the country after suffering a breakdown of some sort. Will works clearing forests, and lives out of his van, until he loses his job over a lack of proper documentation. Meanwhile, Will's younger brother, Davey, is enjoying his life as a womanizing man about town, and dabbling in drug dealing, until one night, when an older man, Boad ([[Performer~P47319~Malcolm McDowell~malcolmmcdowell]]), has him followed and brutally assaults him. The traumatized Davey returns home and takes his own life. Will, uncertain as to where to go, finds himself drawn back to London, where he learns of Davey's death from Mrs. Barz ([[Performer~P65888~Sylvia Syms~sylviasyms]]), his landlady. Will investigates what happened that night with his old friend, Mickser ([[Performer~P370980~Jamie Foreman~jamieforeman]]). As Will tries to piece together what happened, he goes to visit Helen ([[Performer~P58664~Charlotte Rampling~charlotterampling]]), his former lover, who is less than thrilled to see him after he abandoned her years earlier and eventually cut off all contact. The current neighborhood crime boss, Turner ([[Performer~P153909~Ken Stott~kenstott]]), knows what Will is capable of, and sees him as a threat. Eventually, Will uncovers the truth, and is faced with the unpleasant prospect of avenging Davey's death. Screenwriter [[Performer~P107050~Preston~trevorpreston]] took the title for the film from a sardonic song by the late [[Performer~P78550~Warren Zevon~warrenzevon]]. ~ Josh Ralske, Rovi

  • Release date:May 16, 2003

Cast

Clive Owen
as Will Graham
Charlotte Rampling
as Helen
Jonathan Rhys-Meyers
as Davey
Malcolm McDowell
as Boad
Jamie Foreman
as Mickser
Ken Stott
as Frank Turner
Sylvia Syms
as Mrs. Bartz
Kirris Riviere
as Big John
Brian Croucher
as Al Shaw
Ross Boatman
as Malone
Marc O'Shea
as Paulin
Noel Clarke
as Cyril
Alexander Morton

Crew

Mike Hodges
Director
Michael Corrente
Producer
Mike Kaplan
Producer
Trevor Preston
Screenwriter
Michael Garfath
Cinematographer
Paul Carlin
Editor
Jon Bunker
Production Designer
John Ralph
Art Director
Marisa Polvino
Co-producer
Trisha Van Klaveren
Executive Producer
Roger Marino
Executive Producer
Richard E. Johnson
Executive Producer
Robert O. Kaplan
Executive Producer
Max Bygrave
Sound/Sound Designer
Richard Whelan
First Assistant Director
Leo Davis
Casting
Advertisement