Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

If You Knew Susie Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Hoping for a success commensurate with his previous [[Feature~V156103~Show Business~chobizenesse]] (1945), comedian [[Performer~P10700~Eddie Cantor~eddiecantor]] poured a lot of his own money into the RKO Radio musical If You Knew Susie. [[Performer~P10700~Cantor~eddiecantor]] and his [[Feature~V156103~Show Business~chobizenesse]] co-star [[Performer~P17366~Joan Davis~joandavis]] are reteamed herein as ex-vaudevillians Sam and Susie Parker, who retire to a small and rather cloistered New England town. Faced with the snobbery of the local "aristocracy," Sam and Susie come to believe that they aren't worthy of their new neighbors, nor of their own children. All this changes when the Parkers find a document signed by George Washington bestowing $50,000 on one of Sam's forebears! According to the government, Sam and Susie are now owed several billion dollars interest. Sam patriotically refuses to accept the money, thereby becoming a national hero -- but not before a plenitude of comic plot twists involving gangsters [[Performer~P41871~Sheldon Leonard~sheldonleonard]] and Joe Sawyer. Cast as the Parkers' daughter Marjorie is "newcomer" [[Performer~P37927~Margaret Kerry~margaretkerry]], who'd actually been in films since 1936 as child actress Peggy Lynch. One of the musical highlights in If You Knew Susie is a clip from [[Feature~V156103~Show Business~chobizenesse]], featuring [[Performer~P10700~Cantor~eddiecantor]], [[Performer~P17366~Davis~joandavis]], [[Performer~P51445~George Murphy~georgemurphy]] and [[Performer~P50288~Constance Moore~constancemoore]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Eddie Cantor
as Sam Parker
Joan Davis
as Susie Parker
Allyn Joslyn
as Mike Garrett
Charles Dingle
as Mr. Whitley
Sheldon Leonard
as Steve Garland
Joe Sawyer
as Zero Zantini
Douglas Fowley
as Marty
Howard Freeman
as Mr. Clinton
Mabel Paige
as Grandma
Sig Rumann
as Count Alexis
Fritz Feld
as Chez Henri
Isabel Randolph
as Mrs. Clinton
Bobby Driscoll
as Junior
Ellen Corby
as Woman
Harry Harvey
as Sedley
Sid Saylor
as Proprietor of Pet Shop
Earl Hodgins
as Auctioneer
Donald Kerr
as Window Washer
Jason Robards, Sr.
as Ogleby
Charles Halton
as Pringle
Robert Clarke
as Orchestra Leader
Mary Field
as Telephone Operator
Tom Keene
as Graham
George Chandler
as Reporter
Addison Richards
as Senator
Don Beddoe
as Editor
John Farrell MacDonald
as Policeman

Crew

Eddie Cantor
Producer
Warren Wilson
Screenwriter
Oscar Brodney
Screenwriter
Frank Redman
Cinematographer
Constantin Bakaleinikoff
Musical Direction/Supervision
Ralph Berger
Art Director
Albert S. D'Agostino
Art Director
Darrell Silvera
Set Designer
Renie
Costume Designer
Charles O'Curran
Choreography
Gordon Bau
Makeup
Advertisement