Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Idiocracy Details


Mike Judge wrote and directed this offbeat sci-fi comedy which gives a new meaning to the expression "people are getting dumber all the time." In 2005, Pvt. Joe Bowers (Luke Wilson) is a soldier chosen to take part in a secret military scientific experiment in which he will be put into induced hibernation for one year, along with a woman named Rita (Maya Rudolph). Bowers is chosen for the assignment because he is statistically the most average man in the Army, while Rita is a hooker ordered to do some community service; however, Bowers and Rita are forgotten when the military base where the experiment took place is closed down, and when they wake up in the year 2505, Bowers finds himself living in a society where intelligence has taken such a landslide he's now the smartest man in the world. Can Bowers save America from its own remarkable stupidity, and he can he get the dunderheads around him to believe what he says? Produced under the title 3001, Idiocracy also stars Dax Shepard as Bowers's numb-skull lawyer, Stephen Root as a judge, and Terry Crews as Camacho, a former porn star and professional wrestler who is now president of the United States. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:September 1, 2006


Luke Wilson
as Pvt. Joe Bauers
Maya Rudolph
as Rita
Dax Shepard
as Frito
Terry Crews
as President Camacho
Anthony 'Citric' Campos
as Secretary of Defense
David Herman
as Secretary of State
Wes Davis
as Trashy Teen Jock
Roman Ramos
as Congressman #2
Sara Rue
as Attorney General
Patrick Fischler
as Yuppie Husband
Andrew Wilson
as Beef Supreme
Melissa Espinales
as Counter Woman
Robert Musgrave
as Sgt. Keller
Lidia Porto
as Female Reporter
Chris Warner
as Cop at Costco
Earl Mann
as Narrator
Jason Konopisos
as Cop at Government Center
Ryan Ransdell
as Trashy Guy
Justin Long
as Doctor
Kevin Klee
as Ow! My Balls! Guy
Mark Turner
as Officer
Valerie Posas
as New Slutty Girl
Melissa Dawn
as Female FOX Newscaster
Brendan Hill
as Secretary of Energy
Mitch Baker
as Doctor With Trashy Guy
Stephen Root
as Judge
Turk Pipkin
as Guy at Costco
Thomas Haden Church
as Brawndo CEO
Ryan Melton
as Hospital Technician
Michael McCafferty
as Officer Collins
Daniel Smith
as Control Room Director
Randal Reeder
as Secret Service Thug
Sonny Castillo
as Prosecutor
Darlene Hunt
as Yuppie Wife
Lonnie Nelson
as Trapped Man
Greg Pitts
as Cameraman
Joseph Cheatham
as Doctor in Waiting Room
Lawrence Castillo
as Prison Guard #3
John Dodson
as Additional Officer
Derek Southers
as Male FOX Newscaster
Heather Kafka
as Woman at Carl's Jr.


Mike Judge
Mike Judge
Elysa Koplovitz
Mike Judge
Etan Cohen
Tim Suhrstedt
Theodore Shapiro
Composer (Music Score)
David Rennie
Darren Gilford
Production Designer
Nick Navarro
Set Designer
Ronald R. Reiss
Set Decorator
Debra McGuire
Costume Designer
Mack Melson
Sound/Sound Designer
Rip Murray
First Assistant Director
Mary Vernieu
Eddie Perez
Stunts Coordinator
Joe Montenegro
Special Effects Supervisor
Dwayne Grady
Properties Master
Christina Fong
Second Assistant Director
Paul Goodstein
Key Grip
LeAnn Radeka
Chris Castaldi
Second Second Assistant Director
Donis Rhoden
Best Boy Grip
Gina Grande
Script Supervisor