Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Idiocracy Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P213433~Mike Judge~mikejudge]] wrote and directed this offbeat sci-fi comedy which gives a new meaning to the expression "people are getting dumber all the time." In 2005, Pvt. Joe Bowers ([[Performer~P200995~Luke Wilson~lukewilson]]) is a soldier chosen to take part in a secret military scientific experiment in which he will be put into induced hibernation for one year, along with a woman named Rita ([[Performer~P278742~Maya Rudolph~mayarudolph]]). Bowers is chosen for the assignment because he is statistically the most average man in the Army, while Rita is a hooker ordered to do some community service; however, Bowers and Rita are forgotten when the military base where the experiment took place is closed down, and when they wake up in the year 2505, Bowers finds himself living in a society where intelligence has taken such a landslide he's now the smartest man in the world. Can Bowers save America from its own remarkable stupidity, and he can he get the dunderheads around him to believe what he says? Produced under the title 3001, Idiocracy also stars [[Performer~P372569~Dax Shepard~daxshepard]] as Bowers's numb-skull lawyer, [[Performer~P61394~Stephen Root~stephenroot]] as a judge, and [[Performer~P279136~Terry Crews~terrycrews]] as Camacho, a former porn star and professional wrestler who is now president of the United States. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:September 1, 2006

Cast

Luke Wilson
as Pvt. Joe Bauers
Maya Rudolph
as Rita
Dax Shepard
as Frito
Terry Crews
as President Camacho
Anthony 'Citric' Campos
as Secretary of Defense
David Herman
as Secretary of State
Chris Warner
as Cop at Costco
Lonnie Nelson
as Trapped Man
Mark Turner
as Officer
Derek Southers
as Male FOX Newscaster
Earl Mann
as Narrator
Greg Pitts
as Cameraman
Turk Pipkin
as Guy at Costco
Valerie Posas
as New Slutty Girl
Wes Davis
as Trashy Teen Jock
Stephen Root
as Judge
Darlene Hunt
as Yuppie Wife
Thomas Haden Church
as Brawndo CEO
Andrew Wilson
as Beef Supreme
Sara Rue
as Attorney General
Melissa Dawn
as Female FOX Newscaster
Melissa Espinales
as Counter Woman
Michael McCafferty
as Officer Collins
Mitch Baker
as Doctor With Trashy Guy
Patrick Fischler
as Yuppie Husband
Randal Reeder
as Secret Service Thug
Robert Musgrave
as Sgt. Keller
Roman Ramos
as Congressman #2
Ryan Melton
as Hospital Technician
Ryan Ransdell
as Trashy Guy
Sonny Castillo
as Prosecutor
Heather Kafka
as Woman at Carl's Jr.
Jason Konopisos
as Cop at Government Center
John Dodson
as Additional Officer
Joseph Cheatham
as Doctor in Waiting Room
Justin Long
as Doctor
Kevin Klee
as Ow! My Balls! Guy
Lawrence Castillo
as Prison Guard #3
Lidia Porto
as Female Reporter
Brendan Hill
as Secretary of Energy
Daniel Smith
as Control Room Director

Crew

Mike Judge
Director
Mike Judge
Producer
Elysa Koplovitz
Producer
Etan Cohen
Screenwriter
Mike Judge
Screenwriter
Tim Suhrstedt
Cinematographer
Theodore Shapiro
Composer (Music Score)
David Rennie
Editor
Darren Gilford
Production Designer
Nick Navarro
Set Designer
Ronald R. Reiss
Set Decorator
Debra McGuire
Costume Designer
Mack Melson
Sound/Sound Designer
Rip Murray
First Assistant Director
Mary Vernieu
Casting
Paul Goodstein
Key Grip
Joe Montenegro
Special Effects Supervisor
LeAnn Radeka
Costume/Wardrobe
Donis Rhoden
Best Boy Grip
Dwayne Grady
Properties Master
Eddie Perez
Stunts Coordinator
Chris Castaldi
Second Second Assistant Director
Christina Fong
Second Assistant Director
Gina Grande
Script Supervisor
Advertisement