Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Ice Storm Details


Set on Thanksgiving weekend of 1973, The Ice Storm looks into the lives of a wealthy Connecticut family who are calm and civil on the outside, but whose lives are quietly falling into chaos. Sixteen-year-old Paul Hood (Tobey Maguire) is home for the holidays from prep school; he'd just as soon have stayed at school, given the usual level of tension around the house and his desire to win the affections of Casey (Katie Holmes), a girl living in Manhattan. His 14-year-old sister, Wendy (Christina Ricci), is already a hardened cynic obsessed with the ongoing Watergate investigation, and she has begun acting out sexually with a neighbor boy, Mikey (Elijah Wood). Apparently, this runs in the family: Wendy's father, Ben (Kevin Kline), is having an affair with Mikey's mother, Janey (Sigourney Weaver), though Ben sees a future in the relationship and Janey does not. Elena (Joan Allen), Ben's wife, knows something is wrong with her marriage and her life, but she has no idea what she should do about it. As the teenagers surreptitiously experiment with drugs and alcohol, and the adults drift into mate-swapping, a dangerous blanket of freezing rain begins to cover New Canaan. The Ice Storm was adapted from the acclaimed novel by Rick Moody. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:September 26, 1997


Awarded by
Cannes Film Festival James Schamus Best Screenplay 1997 Winner
Toronto Film Critics Association Ang Lee Best Director [Runner-up] 1997 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Sigourney Weaver Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 1997 Nominee


Kevin Kline
as Ben Hood
Joan Allen
as Elena Hood
Sigourney Weaver
as Janey Carver
Tobey Maguire
as Paul Hood
Christina Ricci
as Wendy Hood
Elijah Wood
as Mikey Carver
Henry Czerny
as George Clair
Jamey Sheridan
as Jim Carver
Katie Holmes
as Libbets Casey
Adam Hann-Byrd
as Sandy Carver
David Krumholtz
as Francis Davenport
Michael Cumpsty
as Philip Edwards
Allison Janney
as Dot Halford
Glenn Fitzgerald
as Neil Conrad
Michael Cumpsty
as Philip Edwards
David Krumholtz
as Francis Davenport
Adam Hann-Byrd
as Sandy Carver
Allison Janney
as Dot Halford


Ang Lee
Ang Lee
James Schamus
Ted Hope
James Schamus
Mychael Danna
Composer (Music Score)
Alex Steyermark
Musical Direction/Supervision
Tim Squyres
Mark Friedberg
Production Designer
Bob Shaw
Art Director
Anthony Bregman
Associate Producer
Alysse Bezahler
Associate Producer
Stephanie Carroll
Set Designer
Carol Oditz
Costume Designer
Elizabeth Shelton
Costume Designer
Drew Kunin
Sound/Sound Designer
Stephen Wertimer
First Assistant Director
Avy Kaufman