Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

I Capture The Castle Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Based on the novel by [[Performer~P168766~Dodie Smith~dodiesmith]] (101 Dalmatians), director [[Performer~P277683~Tim Fywell~timfywell]]'s comic romance follows 17-year-old Cassandra Mortmain ([[Performer~P328450~Romola Garai~romolagarai]]) and her quirky family as they attempt to make the best of their meager existence in a crumbling English castle. While her father ([[Performer~P52695~Bill Nighy~billnighy]]) has been struggling for over a decade to repeat the success of his debut novel, her beautiful sister Rose ([[Performer~P195364~Rose Byrne~rosebyrne]]) frequently voices her displeasure with their current situation, and nudist stepmother Topaz ([[Performer~P23709~Tara Fitzgerald~tarafitzgerald]]) proves little help at much of anything. The arrival of American landlord Simon Cotton ([[Performer~P114021~Henry Thomas~henrythomas]]) and his brother Neil ([[Performer~P294523~Marc Blucas~marcblucas]]) provides a glimmer of hope as the initially repelled Rose soon takes a liking to Simon and the two arrange to marry. Lost in the chaotic shuffle of marriage plans and increasingly complicated relationships, the hapless Cassandra soon begins to blossom into womanhood as she experiences aspects of life that were heretofore unknown to her. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:May 9, 2003

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Los Angeles Film Critics Association Bill Nighy Best Supporting Actor 2003 Winner

Cast

Romola Garai
as Cassandra Mortmain
Rose Byrne
as Rose Mortmain
Henry Thomas
as Simon Cotton
Marc Blucas
as Neil Cotton
Bill Nighy
as James Mortmain
Tara Fitzgerald
as Topaz Mortmain
Sinéad Cusack
as Mrs. Cotton
Henry Cavill
as Stephen Colley

Crew

Tim Fywell
Director
David M. Thompson
Producer
Anant Singh
Producer
David Parfitt
Producer
Dodie Smith
Book Author
Heidi Thomas
Screenwriter
Richard Greatrex
Cinematographer
Dario Marianelli
Composer (Music Score)
Roy Sharman
Editor
John Paul Kelly
Production Designer
Mike Stallion
Art Director
Leigh Walker
Art Director
Mark Cooper
Co-producer
Keith Evans
Executive Producer
Mike Newell
Executive Producer
Steve Christian
Executive Producer
Mark Shivas
Executive Producer
Bruce Davey
Executive Producer
Judy Farr
Set Designer
Charlotte Walter
Costume Designer
Deborah Aquila
Casting
Tricia Wood
Casting
Kate Rhodes James
Casting
Lisa Westcott
Hair Styles
Lisa Westcott
Makeup Designer
Advertisement