Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

I, Claudius Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

This 13-episode miniseries was adapted from the book by [[Performer~P309978~Robert Graves~robertgraves]], which chronicles the tumultuous life and times of Claudius ([[Performer~P34894~Derek Jacobi~derekjacobi]]), who despite a deformed leg and a speech impediment through prophecy becomes the Roman Emperor. An aging Claudius looks back at the bizarre and treacherous times through which he's lived and sets them down in a secret history that is not to be read until after his death. The distinguished cast of I, Claudius includes [[Performer~P34099~John Hurt~johnhurt]] as Caligula, [[Performer~P6742~Brian Blessed~brianblessed]] as Augustus, [[Performer~P56603~Sian Phillips~sianphillips]] as Livia, [[Performer~P72328~Margaret Tyzack~margarettyzack]] as Antonia, and [[Performer~P68265~Patrick Stewart~patrickstewart]] as Sejanus. The home-video release also includes the documentary [[Feature~V15926~The Epic That Never Was~theepicthatneverwas]], which looks at producer [[Performer~P97893~Alexander Korda~alexanderkorda]] ill-starred attempt to film [[Performer~P309978~Graves~robertgraves]]' novel in the mid-1930s. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Crew

Herbert Wise
Director
Martin Lisemore
Producer
Jack Pulman
Screenwriter
Advertisement