Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Hush ... Hush, Sweet Charlotte Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

An unusually long pre-credits sequence establishes the roots of faded Southern belle Charlotte's ([[Performer~P17295~Bette Davis~bettedavis]]) insanity; she'd been witness to the dismemberment murder of her fiance ([[Performer~P18703~Bruce Dern~brucedern]]) and the suicide of the murderer, her own father ([[Performer~P9520~Victor Buono~victorbuono]]). Years later, Charlotte remains a recluse in her decaying southern mansion, zealously guarding the secret of her father's guilt; she is cared for by her slatternly housekeeper ([[Performer~P50390~Agnes Moorehead~agnesmoorehead]]). When her house is targeted for demolition, Charlotte fears that this will uncover her lover's body parts and thus confirm that her father was a murderer. She desperately summons her seemingly sweet-tempered cousin Miriam ([[Performer~P17765~Olivia De Havilland~oliviadehavilland]]) to help her fight off the house's destruction. Miriam brings along the family doctor ([[Performer~P15270~Joseph Cotten~josephcotten]]) to calm Charlotte's frayed nerves. When Charlotte begins to be plagued by horrific visions of the homicide/suicide of so long ago, it appears that she has gone completely insane. But soon we learn who is behind these delusions...and why. Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte was intended by director [[Performer~P79278~Robert Aldrich~robertaldrich]] as a follow-up to the successful [[Performer~P15681~Joan Crawford~joancrawford]]/Bette Davis horror piece [[Feature~V54112~Whatever Happened to Baby Jane~whateverhappenedtosusanjane]] (1962). Ms. Crawford was originally slated to play Miriam, but became seriously ill shortly before filming started. Davis, who disliked Crawford intensely, suggested that the role of Miriam be filled by her best friend, De Havilland. On the first day of shooting, Davis and DeHavilland pulled a "Ding Dong the Witch is Dead" routine by toasting one another with Coca-Cola--a catty observation of the fact that Joan Crawford's husband was an executive with the Pepsi Cola company! ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:December 15, 1964

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Mack David Best Song 1964 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Norma Koch Best Black and White Costume Design 1964 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Raphael Bretton Best Black and White Art Direction 1964 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences William Glasgow Best Black and White Art Direction 1964 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Agnes Moorehead Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 1964 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Agnes Moorehead Best Supporting Actress 1964 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Joseph Biroc Best Black and White Cinematography 1964 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Frank De Vol Best Original Score 1964 Nominee
Edgar Allan Poe Awards Lukas Heller Best Screenplay 1964 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Michael Luciano Best Editing 1964 Nominee

Cast

Bette Davis
as Charlotte Hollis
Olivia de Havilland
as Miriam
Joseph Cotten
as Drew Bayliss
Agnes Moorehead
as Velma
Cecil Kellaway
as Harry
Victor Buono
as Big Sam
Mary Astor
as Jewel Mayhew
Wesley Addy
as Sheriff
Bruce Dern
as John Mayhew
Frank Ferguson
as Editor
George Kennedy
as Foreman
Percy Helton
as Funeral Director
William Aldrich
as Boy Dancer
Ellen Corby
as Town Gossip
Marianne Stewart
as Town Gossip
Helen Kleeb
as Town Gossip
Lillian Randolph
as Cleaning Woman
Geraldine West
as Cleaning Woman
Dave Willock
as Taxi Driver

Crew

Robert Aldrich
Director
Robert Aldrich
Producer
Lukas Heller
Screenwriter
Joseph Biroc
Cinematographer
Frank De Vol
Composer (Music Score)
Mack David
Songwriter
Michael Luciano
Editor
Raphael Bretton
Art Director
William Glasgow
Art Director
Walter Blake
Associate Producer
Raphael Bretton
Set Designer
Norma Koch
Costume Designer
Bernard Freericks
Sound/Sound Designer
William McGarry
First Assistant Director
Gene Hibbs
Makeup
Advertisement