Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Husbands and Wives Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

One of [[Performer~P79388~Woody Allen~woodyallen]]'s most seemingly biographical films, Husbands and Wives opens with upper-middle class Manhattan couple Sally ([[Performer~P17373~Judy Davis~judydavis]]) and Jack ([[Performer~P106775~Sydney Pollack~sydneypollack]]) announcing to their best friends, the Roths, that they are splitting up. Gabe Roth ([[Performer~P79388~Allen~woodyallen]]) and his wife Judy ([[Performer~P22809~Mia Farrow~miafarrow]]) are taken aback by their casual revelation. Jack begins dating his dim, but sexy, aerobics instructor and Sally starts up a tentative romance with Michael ([[Performer~P52070~Liam Neeson~liamneeson]]). Gabe and Judy begin analyzing their marriage, discovering that they might not be meant to stay together. English professor Gabe begins a serious flirtation with a student of his named Rain ([[Performer~P42230~Juliette Lewis~juliettelewis]]) and Judy begins to have feelings for Michael. Eventually, Sally and Jack reconcile, but have not improved their relationship. Gabe and Judy end up going their separate ways. Husbands and Wives was seemingly influenced by [[Performer~P81548~Ingmar Bergman~ingmarbergman]]'s [[Feature~V43110~Scenes From a Marriage~scenesfromamarriage]]. ~ Perry Seibert, Rovi

  • Release date:September 18, 1992

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Los Angeles Film Critics Association Judy Davis Best Supporting Actress 1991 Winner
National Society of Film Critics Judy Davis Best Supporting Actress 1991 Winner
National Board of Review Judy Davis Best Supporting Actress 1992 Winner
National Society of Film Critics Judy Davis Best Supporting Actress 1992 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Judy Davis Best Actress 1992 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Judy Davis Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 1992 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Judy Davis Best Supporting Actress 1992 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Woody Allen Best Original Screenplay 1992 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Woody Allen Best Original Screenplay 1992 Nominee

Cast

Woody Allen
as Gabe Roth
Judy Davis
as Sally
Mia Farrow
as Judy Roth
Sydney Pollack
as Jack
Juliette Lewis
as Rain
Liam Neeson
as Michael
Lysette Anthony
as Sam
Blythe Danner
as Rain's Mother
Cristi Conaway
as Shawn Grainger
Tim Jerome
as Paul
Ron Rifkin
as Rain's Analyst
Jerry Zaks
as Dinner Party Guest
Bruce Jay Friedman
as Peter Styles
Benno Schmidt
as Judy's Ex-Husband
Jeffrey Kurland
as Narrator
Jeffrey Kurland
as Interviewer
Michelle Turley
as Gabe's Novel Montage
Gordon Rigsby
as Hampton's Party Guest
Anthony Nocerino
as Gabe's Novel Montage
Jessica Frankston
as Birthday Party Guest
Adelaide Mestre
as Banducci Family Member
Matthew Flint
as Rain's Boyfriend
Tony Turco
as Banducci Family Member
Steve Randazzo
as Banducci Family Member
Jack Richardson
as Dinner Party Guest
Nora Ephron
as Dinner Party Guest
Kenny Vance
as Gabe's Novel Montage
Ira Wheeler
as Dinner Party Guest
Galaxy Craze
as Harriet
Lisa Gustin
as Gabe's Novel Montage
Nick Metropolis
as TV Scientist
Brian McConnachie
as Rain's Father
Caroline Aaron
as Dinner Party Guest
Connie Picard
as Banducci Family Member
Victor Truro
as Gabe's Novel Montage
Kenneth Edelson
as Gabe's Novel Montage
Merv Bloch
as Birthday Party Guest
Ron August
as Rain's Ex-Lover
Philip Levy
as Taxi Dispatcher
John Doumanian
as Hampton's Party Guest
Rebecca Glenn
as Gail

Crew

Woody Allen
Director
Robert Greenhut
Producer
Woody Allen
Screenwriter
Carlo Di Palma
Cinematographer
Susan E. Morse
Editor
Santo Loquasto
Production Designer
Speed Hopkins
Art Director
Helen Robin
Co-producer
Joseph Hartwick
Co-producer
Thomas A. Reilly
Associate Producer
Charles H. Joffe
Executive Producer
Susan Bode-Tyson
Set Designer
Jeffrey Kurland
Costume Designer
Juliet Taylor
Casting
Fern Buchner
Makeup
Advertisement