Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Hurlyburly Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P107329~David Rabe~davidrabe]]'s popular play of Hollywood immorality and decadence is brought to the big screen by director [[Performer~P88234~Anthony Drazan~anthonydrazan]] and an all-star cast that includes [[Performer~P106027~Sean Penn~seanpenn]], [[Performer~P77633~Robin Wright-Penn~robinwrightpenn]], [[Performer~P67045~Kevin Spacey~kevinspacey]], [[Performer~P62388~Meg Ryan~megryan]], [[Performer~P54860~Chazz Palminteri~chazzpalminteri]], [[Performer~P64771~Garry Shandling~garryshandling]], and [[Performer~P198605~Anna Paquin~annapaquin]]. The film is set in the Hollywood Hills and tells the story of Eddie (Penn) a drinking-smoking-snorting-womanizing casting director and his philandering partner-roommate Mickey ([[Performer~P67045~Spacey~kevinspacey]]). Along with their buddies Artie and Phil, they sit around and pontificate about the meaning of life -- that is, the meaning of their lives, of which there is very little. Eddie is in love with Darlene (real-life wife [[Performer~P77633~Wright Penn~robinwrightpenn]]), but she is also seeing the married Mickey. When Artie brings Eddie and Mickey a "care package" in the shape of a pretty, disillusioned hitchhiker named Donna ([[Performer~P198605~Paquin~annapaquin]]), they take turns throwing her around until, yet again, their own empty pathetic lives preoccupy their paranoid minds. As people and relationships deteriorate everywhere, the guys try to pick Phil by giving him the gift of a washed-up exotic dancer, Bonnie (Ryan). Of course she ends up just more abused than ever as she and the rest of the gang hit rock bottom. ~ Arthur Borman, Rovi

  • Release date:December 25, 1998

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Venice International Film Festival Sean Penn Volpi Cup for Best Actor 1998 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Sean Penn Best Actor 1998 Nominee

Crew

Anthony Drazan
Director
Anthony Drazan
Producer
Richard N. Gladstein
Producer
David Shamroy Hamburger
Producer
David Rabe
Play Author
David Rabe
Screenwriter
David Baerwald
Composer (Music Score)
Steve Lindsey
Composer (Music Score)
Dylan Tichenor
Editor
Derek R. Hill
Art Director
Frederick Zollo
Executive Producer
H. Michael Heuser
Executive Producer
Nicholas Paleologos
Executive Producer
Mary Claire Hannan
Costume Designer
Jeff Wexler
Sound/Sound Designer
David Wechsler
First Assistant Director
Advertisement