Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Hunt for Red October Details


The first of several films based on Tom Clancy's "Jack Ryan" technothrillers, Hunt for Red October stars Alec Baldwin as eccentric CIA analyst Ryan and Sean Connery as Soviet submarine commander Marko Ramius. Ramius sets the plot in motion when he murders his political adviser, burns his orders, and steers his sub Red October towards American waters, hoping to defect. The CIA, aware that the Red October was about to embark on an evasive mission to demonstrate its ability to avoid detection and fire its nuclear missiles upon U.S. installations, believes that Ramius is insane, and that he plans to start World War III. To cover their own behinds, the Russians back up the CIA's suspicion. Only Jack Ryan believes that Ramius' mission is not as apocalyptic as it seems -- and it is Ryan who is assigned to infiltrate the Red October to prove his theory. The sort of film that in an earlier era would have been called a "thinking man's thriller," The Hunt for Red October ushered in a new series of Hollywood-produced post-Cold War adventure films, including 1995's Sean Connery. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:February 2, 1990


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences George Watters II Best Sound Effects 1990 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Richard Bryce Goodman Best Sound 1990 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences John Wright Best Editing 1990 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Cecelia Hall Best Sound Effects 1990 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Dennis Virkler Best Editing 1990 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Don Bassman Best Sound 1990 Nominee


Sean Connery
as Capt. Marko Ramius
Alec Baldwin
as Jack Ryan
Scott Glenn
as Capt. Bart Mancuso
James Earl Jones
as Admiral James Greer
Sam Neill
as Capt. Vasily Borodin
Joss Ackland
as Andrei Lysenko
Richard Jordan
as Jeffrey Pelt
Peter Firth
as Ivan Putin
Tim Curry
as Dr. Petrov
Courtney B. Vance
as Seaman Jones
Stellan Skarsgård
as Capt. Tupolev
Jeffrey Jones
as Skip Tyler
Fred Dalton Thompson
as Admiral Painter
Daniel Davis
as Capt. Davenport
Tomas Arana
as Leginov (Cook)
Ned Vaughn
as Seaman Beaumont
Arthur Cybulski
as Diving Officer
Peter Zinner
as Adm. Padorin
Ivan G'Vera
as Officer
Christopher Janczar
as Andrei Bonovia
Ben Hartigan
as Admiral (Briefing)
A.C. Lyles
as Advisor #1
David Sederholm
as Sunglasses
Ping Wu
as Soviet Seaman
Kenton Kovell
Boris Krutonog
as Stavin
Vlado Benden
as Konovalov Seaman
Radu Gavor
as Soviet Seaman
Pete Antico
as Seaman
Mark Draxton
as Seaman
Tom Fisher
as Seaman
Andrew Divoff
as Andrei Amalric
Rick Ducommun
as Navigator C-2A
Reed Popovich
as Lt. Jim Curry
Anatoly Davydov
as Officer #1
F.J. O'Neil
as General at Briefing
Ronald Guttman
as Lt. Melekhin
Gates McFadden
as Caroline Ryan
Larry Ferguson
as Chief of the Boat
Tony Veneto
as Padorin's Orderly
Ray Reinhardt
as Jodge Moore at Briefing
Anthony Peck
as Lt. Comdr. Thompson
Sven Ole Thorsen
as Russian COB
Amanda Mackey-Johnson
Herman Sinitzyn
as Soviet Seaman
Timothy Carhart
as Bill Steiner
Michael Welden
as Kamarov
Robert Buckingham
as Admirals at Briefing
Louise Borras
as Sally Ryan
John Shepherd
as Foxtrot Pilot


John McTiernan
Mace Neufeld
Robert Garland
David Shaber
John Milius
Larry Ferguson
Tom Clancy
Book Author
Jan de Bont
Basil Poledouris
Composer (Music Score)
Cecelia Hall
Musical Direction/Supervision
Richard Bryce Goodman
Musical Direction/Supervision
Dennis Virkler
John Wright
Peter Zinner
Terence Marsh
Production Designer
Dianne I. Wager
Art Director
Don Woodruff
Art Director
William Cruse
Art Director
Larry de Waay
Executive Producer
Jerry Sherlock
Executive Producer
James Tyson
Costume Designer
Terry Frazee
Special Effects
Scott Squires
Special Effects
Christopher Dierdorff
Charlie Canfield
Pat Meyers
Eric Swenson
Animation Effects
Wes Dawn
James Kail
George Watters II
Sound Effects Editor