Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

How to Make an American Quilt Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A young woman at a crossroads in her life finds herself receiving plenty of advice from her older and wiser counterparts in this drama. Finn Dodd ([[Performer~P62446~Winona Ryder~winonaryder]]) is a graduate student trying to finish up her doctoral thesis on women's folk art while deciding if she should marry her fiancé Sam ([[Performer~P51293~Dermot Mulroney~dermotmulroney]]); she's not sure if she's ready to settle down, and suspects that Sam is unfaithful to her. Needing time to sort things out, Finn chooses to spend the summer with her grandmother Hy ([[Performer~P9777~Ellen Burstyn~ellenburstyn]]) and great aunt Gladys Jo ([[Performer~P80576~Anne Bancroft~annebancroft]]). Hy and Gladys Jo are avid quilters, and with a group of their friends, they work on a special quilt for Finn's wedding; as the women work together, they share stories of their lives, and Finn finds herself learning as much from hearing them talk as she does from her schoolwork. Finn also receives a visit from her free-spirited mom Sally ([[Performer~P10767~Kate Capshaw~katecapshaw]]) and finds herself infatuated with a good looking young man who lives nearby. Maya Angelou plays one of the quilters, as do [[Performer~P52151~Kate Nelligan~katenelligan]], [[Performer~P65749~Jean Simmons~jeansimmons]], and [[Performer~P77363~Alfre Woodard~alfrewoodard]]. How to Make an American Quilt was the directorial debut of [[Performer~P103409~Jocelyn Moorhouse~jocelynmoorhouse]], and was based on a novel by Whitney Otto that itself began as a doctoral thesis. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Cast

Winona Ryder
as Finn Dodd
Anne Bancroft
as Glady Jo, Finn's great aunt
Maya Angelou
as Anna
Ellen Burstyn
as Hy (Finn's grandmother)
Kate Nelligan
as Constance Saunders, Dean's mistress
Jean Simmons
as Em (artist's wife)
Alfre Woodard
as Marianna
Alicia Goranson
as Young Hy
Richard Jenkins
as Howell
Joanna Going
as Young Em
Esther Rolle
as Aunt Pauline
Tim Guinee
as Young Dean
Lois Smith
as Sophia
Rip Torn
as Arthur Cleary
Dermot Mulroney
as Sam
Mykelti Williamson
as Winston
Will Nipper
as Boy at Party
Derrick O'Connor
as Dean
Samantha Mathis
as Young Sophia Darling
Johnathon Schaech
as Leon
Claire Danes
as Young Glady Joe
Jared Leto
as Beck
Brian McElroy
as Baby Pres
Loren Dean
as Young Preston, Sophia's husband
Ari Meyers
as Duff
David Williams
as Em's Father
Debra Stricklin
as Guest
Jane Alden
as Em's Mother
Kate Capshaw
as Sally, Finn's mother
Adam Baldwin
as Finn's Father
James Rebhorn
Gail Strickland
as The Mrs
Maria Celedonio
as Young Anna
Holland Taylor
as Mrs Rubens
Melinda Dillon
as Mrs. Darling, Sophia's mother

Crew

Jocelyn Moorhouse
Director
Sarah Pillsbury
Producer
Midge Sanford
Producer
Jane Anderson
Screenwriter
Whitney Otto
Book Author
Janusz Kaminski
Cinematographer
Timothy R. Sexton
Musical Direction/Supervision
Thomas Newman
Composer (Music Score)
Jill Bilcock
Editor
Leslie Dilley
Production Designer
Ed Verreaux
Art Director
Ruth Myers
Co-producer
Deborah Jelin Newmyer
Executive Producer
Laurie MacDonald
Executive Producer
Walter Parkes
Executive Producer
William J. Law III
Set Designer
Evelyne Barbier
Set Designer
Josh Lusby
Set Designer
Marvin March
Set Designer
Ruth Myers
Costume Designer
Russell Williams II
Sound/Sound Designer
Martin Becker
Special Effects
Sergio Mimica-Gezzan
First Assistant Director
Leslie Dilley
First Assistant Director
Mary Vernieu
Casting
Risa Bramon Garcia
Casting
Kevin Bartnof
Foley Artist
Valli O'Reilly
Makeup
Advertisement