Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

How to Eat Fried Worms Details


The new kid at school faces up to the school bully by taking on a challenge no one has the guts to try in this family-oriented comedy. Billy (Luke Benward) is an 11-year-old boy whose folks have just moved to a new town and is facing the terror of his first day at a new school. It doesn't take long for Billy to run afoul of Joe (Adam Hicks), the school bully, who finds the live bait Billy brought with him and throws it in his face, asking Billy if he eats worms for lunch. Billy tries to gross out Joe by saying yes, he eats worms on a regular basis, and Joe calls his bluff by challenging him to eat ten worms in front of the student body. Billy takes the bet, and suddenly becomes something of a celebrity at school as the first kid to stand up to Joe. Billy also discovers he's caught the eye of Erika (Hallie Kate Eisenberg), a cute girl in his class, but can he actually eat the worms without losing his lunch? With the help of a handful of new friends, Billy preps for the big contest by learning how to eat as much gross stuff as he can, and he gains an unexpected ally in hot-headed Principal Burdock (James Rebhorn). Based on the popular children's book by Thomas Rockwell, How to Eat Fried Worms also features Tom Cavanagh, Kimberly Williams-Paisley, and Clint Howard. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:August 25, 2006


Luke Benward
as Billy Forrester
Hallie Kate Eisenberg
as Erika Tansy
Adam Hicks
as Joe Guire
Austin Rogers
as Adam Simms
Alexander Gould
as Twitch
Andrew Gillingham
as Techno Mouth
Ryan Malgarini
as Benjy
Philip Daniel Bolden
as Bradley
Ty Panitz
as Woody Guire
James Rebhorn
as Principal Burdock
Tom Cavanagh
as Mitch Forrester
Kimberly Williams-Paisley
as Helen Forrester
Blake Garrett
as Plug
Alexander Agate
as Donny Pickett
Clint Howard


Bob Dolman
Philip Steuer
Bob Dolman
Thomas Rockwell
Book Author
Richard Rutkowski
Robert Mothersbaugh
Composer (Music Score)
Mark Mothersbaugh
Composer (Music Score)
Lindsay Fellows
Musical Direction/Supervision
Janice Hampton
Caty Maxey
Production Designer
John Frick
Art Director
Cale Boyter
Bob Dolman
Michael Disco
K.C. Hodenfield
Associate Producer
Toby Emmerich
Executive Producer
Kathleen Kiatta
Costume Designer
Carla Curry
Set Decorator
Ethan Andrus
Sound/Sound Designer
K.C. Hodenfield
First Assistant Director
Beth Sepko
Stephanie Corsalini
Bruce Stambler
Supervising Sound Editor
K.C. Hodenfield
Assistant Director
Becky Sullivan
Supervising Sound Editor