Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Howl's Moving Castle Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P167694~Hayao Miyazaki~hayaomiyazaki]], the Japanese animation director who wowed audiences worldwide with his award-winning film [[Feature~V254034~Spirited Away~spiritedaway]], brings another visually spectacular tale of imagination to the screen. Sophie is an 18-year-old girl who toils in the hat shop opened years ago by her late father. Often harassed by local boys, one day Sophie is unexpectedly befriended by Howl, a strange but flamboyant wizard whose large home can travel under its own power. However, the Witch of the Waste is displeased with Sophie and Howl's budding friendship, and turns the pretty young woman into an ugly and aged hag. Sophie takes shelter in Howl's castle, and attempts to find a way to reverse the witch's spell with the help of Calcifer, a subdued but powerful demon who exists in the form of fire, and Markl, who protects the four-way door which can instantly take visitors to other lands and dimensions. Howl's Moving Castle was released in North America by Walt Disney Pictures, who distributed the film both in its original Japanese and in a dubbed English version; the English-speaking voice cast includes [[Performer~P3538~Christian Bale~christianbale]], [[Performer~P215854~Emily Mortimer~emilymortimer]], [[Performer~P65749~Jean Simmons~jeansimmons]], [[Performer~P3116~Lauren Bacall~laurenbacall]], and [[Performer~P86318~Billy Crystal~billycrystal]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:June 10, 2005

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Los Angeles Film Critics Association Joe Hisaishi Best Score 2005 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Hayao Miyazaki Best Animated Feature 2005 Nominee

Cast

Emily Mortimer
as Sophie (English Version)
Chieko Baisho
as Sophie
Christian Bale
as Howl (English Version)
Takuya Kimura
as Howl
Lauren Bacall
as Witch of the Waste (English Version)
Akihiro Miwa
as Witch of the Waste
Billy Crystal
as Calcifer (English Version)
Tatsuya Gasyuin
as Calcifer
Ryunosuke Kamiki
as Markl
Josh Hutcherson
as Markl (English Version)
Jean Simmons
as 90 Year Old Woman (English Version)
Mitsunori Isaki
as Servant
Yo Oizumi
as Prince
Akio Ôtsuka
as King of Ingary
Daijiro Harada
as Heen
Haruko Kato
as Madam Suliman

Crew

Hayao Miyazaki
Director
Toshio Suzuki
Producer
Hayao Miyazaki
Screenwriter
Atsushi Okui
Cinematographer
Joe Hisaishi
Composer (Music Score)
Shuntaro Tanigawa
Songwriter
Takeshi Seyama
Editor
Yoji Takeshige
Art Director
Shuji Inoue
Sound/Sound Designer
Toru Noguchi
Sound Effects Editor
Kitaro Kosaka
Supervising Animator
Mitsunori Kataama
Animation Director
Akihiko Yamashita
Supervising Animator
Chieko Baisho
Musical Performer
Advertisement