Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

How to Marry a Millionaire Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A remake of 1933's [[Feature~V93869~The Greeks Had a Word for Them~thegreekshadawordforthem]], as well as a retread of 20th Century-Fox's favorite plotline, How to Marry a Millionaire was the first Hollywood comedy to be lensed in Cinemascope. [[Performer~P3116~Lauren Bacall~laurenbacall]], [[Performer~P28037~Betty Grable~bettygrable]] and [[Performer~P50065~Marilyn Monroe~marilynmonroe]] play three models of modest means who rent an expensive Manhattan penthouse apartment and pose as women of wealth. It's all part of a scheme hatched by Bacall to snare rich husbands for herself and her roommates. The near-sighted Monroe is wooed by an international playboy, but ends up settling for the tax-dodging fugitive ([[Performer~P75090~David Wayne~davidwayne]]) who owns the girls' apartment. The knuckle-headed Grable goes off on an illicit weekend in the mountains with a grouchy married executive ([[Performer~P13372~Fred Clark~fredclark]]), but falls instead for a comparatively poor--but very handsome--forest ranger ([[Performer~P83867~Rory Calhoun~rorycalhoun]]). And Bacall very nearly lands an aging millionaire ([[Performer~P57536~William Powell~williampowell]]), but has a sudden attack of conscience and opts instead for the supposedly poverty-stricken chap ([[Performer~P49649~Cameron Mitchell~cameronmitchell]]) who has been pursuing her since reel one. It turns out that she has actually landed one of the richest men in New York--and upon learning this, our three luscious heroines faint dead away. Before the opening credits roll in How to Marry a Millionaire, we are treated to a "live" orchestral rendition of [[Performer~P104370~Alfred Newman's~alfrednewman]] "Street Scene" overture, conducted by Newman himself. In addition to its being the first wide-screen comedy, [[Feature~V127459~Millionaire~themillionaire]] was also the first-ever presentation of the weekly NBC series Saturday Night at the Movies, premiering on the small screen on September 23, 1961. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:November 5, 1953

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences William Travilla Best Color Costume Design 1953 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Charles LeMaire Best Color Costume Design 1953 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Jean Negulesco Best British Film 1954 Nominee

Cast

Betty Grable
as Loco Dempsey
Marilyn Monroe
as Pola Debevoise
Lauren Bacall
as Schatze Page
David Wayne
as Freddie Denmark
Rory Calhoun
as Eben
Cameron Mitchell
as Tom Brookman
Alex D'Arcy
as J. Stewart Merrill
Fred Clark
as Waldo Brewster
William Powell
as J.D. Hanley
Percy Helton
as Benton
Robert Adler
as Cab Driver
Harry Carter
as Elevator Operator
Tudor Owen
as Mr. Otis
Maurice Marsac
as Antoine
Emmett Vogan
as Man at Bridge
Rankin Mansfield
as Bennett
Jan Arvan
as Tony
Ivis Goulding
as Maid
Dayton Lummis
as Justice
Eric Wilton
as Butler
Ivan Triesault
as Captain of Waiters
Herbert Deans
as Stewart
Georges Saurel
as Emir
Hope Landin
as Mrs. Salem
Merry Anders
as Model
Ruth Hall
as Model
Beryl McCutcheon
as Model
Benny Burt
as Reporter
Richard Shackleton
as Bell Boy

Crew

Jean Negulesco
Director
Nunnally Johnson
Producer
Nunnally Johnson
Screenwriter
Katherine Albert
Play Author
Zoë Akins
Play Author
Joe MacDonald
Cinematographer
Cyril Mockridge
Composer (Music Score)
Cyril Mockridge
Musical Direction/Supervision
Alfred Newman
Composer (Music Score)
Alfred Newman
Musical Direction/Supervision
Leland Fuller
Art Director
Lyle Wheeler
Art Director
Walter Scott
Set Designer
William Travilla
Costume Designer
Charles LeMaire
Costume Designer
Roger Heman
Sound/Sound Designer
Alfred Bruzlin
Sound/Sound Designer
Advertisement