Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

How to Deal Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Teen pop star [[Performer~P292631~Mandy Moore~mandymoore]] stars in the romantic comedy How to Deal. Directed by British filmmaker [[Performer~P349647~Clare Kilner~clarekilner]], the script is based on two of author [[Performer~P359996~Sarah Dessen~sarahdessen]]'s popular teen novels: Someone Like You and That Summer. Halley ([[Performer~P292631~Moore~mandymoore]]) is a teenager trying to make sense of the faltering romantic relationships within her immediate social sphere. Her mother, Lydia ([[Performer~P199091~Allison Janney~allisonjanney]]), can't seem get a date, while her father ([[Performer~P25621~Peter Gallagher~petergallagher]]) is getting remarried to a woman that nobody seems to like. Halley's wedding-obsessed sister, Ashley ([[Performer~P347048~Mary Catherine Garrison~marycatherinegarrison]]), is engaged to Lewis (MacKenzie Astin), a guy that is completely wrong for her. Meanwhile, bad boy Macon Forrester ([[Performer~P321741~Trent Ford~trentford]]) won't leave Halley alone. Just when she decides to become cynical about love because of all the romantic disappointments around her, a troubled situation involving her best friend Scarlett ([[Performer~P230484~Alexandra Holden~alexandraholden]]) changes her outlook. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

  • Release date:July 18, 2003

Cast

Mandy Moore
as Halley
Allison Janney
as Lydia, Halley's Mom
Trent Ford
as Macon
Alexandra Holden
as Scarlett
Dylan Baker
as Steve Beckwith
Nina Foch
as Grandmas Halley
MacKenzie Astin
as Lewis Warsher
Connie Ray
as Marion Smith
Mary Catherine Garrison
as Ashley Martin
Sonja Smits
as Carol Warsher
Peter Gallagher
as Len Martin
Glynis Johns

Crew

Clare Kilner
Director
William Teitler
Producer
Erica Huggins
Producer
Neena Beber
Screenwriter
Sarah Dessen
Book Author
Eric Edwards
Cinematographer
Jon Leshay
Musical Direction/Supervision
David Kitay
Composer (Music Score)
Janice Hampton
Editor
Shawna Callahan
Editor
Andrew M. Stern
Art Director
Stephanie Striegel
Co-producer
Ted Field
Executive Producer
Michele Weiss
Executive Producer
David Linde
Executive Producer
Toby Emmerich
Executive Producer
Chris Van Allsburg
Executive Producer
Cal Loucks
Set Designer
Alexandra Welker
Costume Designer
Henry Embry
Sound/Sound Designer
Avy Kaufman
Casting
Advertisement