Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

House of Strangers Details


House of Strangers is the first of three film versions of Jerome Weidman's I'll Never Go Home Any More, each of which was scripted by Philip Yordan. Edward G. Robinson plays a Giannini-like Italian-American banker, Gino Monetti, who runs roughshod over his four grown sons. The ruthless Gino engages in several illegal activities to build up his business, and is arrested as a result. Though the sons have always been fully aware of their father's questionable business practices, they refuse to help him stay out of prison; led by oldest son Joe (Luther Adler), three of the sons take over the business and kick their father out. Only son Max (Richard Conte) remains loyal to his father, whereupon his three brothers conspire to have Max thrown into prison as well. Max promises the dying Gino that he'll exact vengeance on the treacherous sons; but when he is released, Max hasn't the stomach for revenge, not even after one of his brothers (Efrem Zimbalist Jr.) tries to kill him. Max leaves his brothers to stew in their own juices, and heads to California for a new life with his fiancée, Irene Bennett (Susan Hayward). Subsequent film versions of the Jerome Weidman novel included Susan Hayward (1954) and Susan Hayward (1961). ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi


Awarded by
Cannes Film Festival Edward G. Robinson Best Actor 1949 Winner


Edward G. Robinson
as Gino Monetti
Susan Hayward
as Irene Bennett
Richard Conte
as Max Monetti
Luther Adler
as Joe Monetti
Efrem Zimbalist, Jr.
as Tony
Debra Paget
as Maria Domenico
Hope Emerson
as Helena Domenico
Esther Minciotti
as Theresa Monetti
Diana Douglas
as Elaine Monetti
Tito Vuolo
as Lucca
Alberto Morin
as Victoro
Sid Tomack
as Waiter
John Kellogg
as Danny
Ann Morrison
as Woman juror
Bob Castro
as Preliminary Fighter
Argentina Brunetti
as Woman
Mushy Callahan
as Referee
Maurice Samuels
as Man
Rhoda Williams
as Woman
Phil Tully
as Guard
Silvio Minciotti
Mario Siletti
as Man
Frank Jaquet
as Man
Charles McClelland
as Cop
James Little
as Cop
Herb Vigran
as Neighbor
Sally Yarnell
as Chorus Dancer
Howard Mitchell
as Guard
John Pedrini
John Kullers
as Taxi Driver


Joseph L. Mankiewicz
Sol C. Siegel
Philip Yordan
Jerome Weidman
Book Author
Milton Krasner
Daniele Amfitheatrof
Musical Direction/Supervision
Daniele Amfitheatrof
Composer (Music Score)
Harmon Jones
Lyle Wheeler
Art Director
Walter Scott
Art Director
George W. Davis
Art Director
Walter Scott
Set Designer
Charles LeMaire
Costume Designer
Roger Heman
Sound/Sound Designer
Fred Sersen
Special Effects
William Eckhardt
First Assistant Director