Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The House on 92nd Street Details


Filmed in semi-documentary fashion, House on 92nd Street is a "now it can be told" drama about the smashing of a Nazi spy ring operating the U.S. Thanks to covert surveillance, the FBI learns of the presence of several suspicious persons in NYC. William Eythe is a German-American college student approached by the spies to become a secret Nazi operative. Eythe instead heads directly to FBI chief Lloyd Nolan and offers his services as a double agent. His mission is to locate the head of the spy ring, an unseen figure known only as Mr. Christopher, and to that end Eythe infiltrates the ring, headquarted in a town house on 92nd street. Among the conspirators are an erudite German colonel (Leo G. Carroll) and the beautiful female owner of the house (Signe Hasso). Part of the plot involves the smuggling to Germany of America's atomic secrets by a weak-willed document clerk (played by Gene Lockhart, one of the best "cringers" in the business). Dwelling a bit too long on the meticulous research techniques of the FBI, House on 92nd Street picks up momentum in the final sequence, wherein "Mr. Christopher" is revealed and double agent Eythe barely escapes with his skin intact. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:September 10, 1945


William Eythe
as Bill Dietrich
Lloyd Nolan
as Inspector George A. Briggs
Signe Hasso
as Elsa Gebhardt
Gene Lockhart
as Charles Ogden Roper
Leo G. Carroll
as Col. Hammersohn
Harry Bellaver
as Max Coburg
Charles Wagenheim
as Gus Huzmann
Rusty Lane
as Admiral
Edwin Jerome
as Major General
Paul Ford
as Sergeant
Tom Brown
as Intern
Sheila Bromley
as Customer
Edgar Dearing
as Cop
E.G. Marshall
as Attendant at Morgue
Douglas Rutherford
as Colonel
Frieda Altman
Reed Hadley
as Narrator
Vincent Gardenia
as Trainee
Frank Kreig
as Travel Agent
Sheila Bromley
as Customer
Reed Hadley
as Narrator
Edgar Dearing
as Cop
Vincent Gardenia
as Trainee
Douglas Rutherford
as Colonel
E.G. Marshall
as Attendant at Morgue


Henry Hathaway
Louis de Rochemont
Norbert F. Brodin
David Buttolph
Composer (Music Score)
Emil Newman
Musical Direction/Supervision
Harmon Jones
Lyle Wheeler
Art Director
William Sittel
Set Designer
Bonnie Cashin
Costume Designer
Fred Sersen
Special Effects
Meyer Mishkin