Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Hours Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Three women, separated by a span of nearly 80 years, find themselves weathering similar crises, all linked by a single work of literature in this film adaptation of the Pulitzer Prize-winning novel by [[Performer~P352280~Michael Cunningham~michaelcunningham]]. In 1923, Virginia Woolf ([[Performer~P38065~Nicole Kidman~nicolekidman]]) is attempting to start work on her novel Mrs. Dalloway, in which she chronicles one day in the life of a troubled woman. But Virginia has demons of her own, and she struggles to overcome the depression and suicidal impulses that have followed her throughout her life, as her husband Leonard ([[Performer~P199938~Stephen Dillane~stephendillane]]) ineffectually tries to help. In 1951, Laura Brown ([[Performer~P50325~Julianne Moore~juliannemoore]]) is a housewife living in suburban Los Angeles, where she looks after her son Richie ([[Performer~P352447~Jack Rovello~jackrovello]]) and husband Dan ([[Performer~P59476~John C. Reilly~johncreilly]]). Laura is also an avid reader who is currently making her way through Mrs. Dalloway. The farther she gets into the novel, the more Laura discovers that it reflects a dissatisfaction she feels in her own life, and she finds herself pondering the notion of leaving her life behind. Finally, in 2000, Clarissa Vaughn ([[Performer~P68676~Meryl Streep~merylstreep]]) is a literary editor who is caring for Richard Brown ([[Performer~P30614~Ed Harris~edharris]]), a former boyfriend and noted author, who is slowly losing his fight with AIDS. Clarissa is trying to arrange a party to celebrate the fact that Richard has won a prestigious literary award, but is getting little help from Richard's ex-lover, Louis ([[Performer~P16881~Jeff Daniels~jeffdaniels]]). As she labors to help Richard through another day, he wonders if his life is worth the unending struggle. The Hours also features [[Performer~P14165~Toni Collette~tonicollette]], [[Performer~P60083~Miranda Richardson~mirandarichardson]], [[Performer~P199091~Allison Janney~allisonjanney]], and [[Performer~P195650~Claire Danes~clairedanes]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:December 27, 2002

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Screen Actors Guild Ed Harris Best Supporting Actor 2002 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Ed Harris Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 2002 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Ed Harris Best Supporting Actor 2002 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Meryl Streep Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama 2002 Nominee
Berlin International Film Festival Meryl Streep Silver Bear for Best Actress 2003 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Nicole Kidman Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama 2002 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Nicole Kidman Best Actress 2002 Winner
Screen Actors Guild Nicole Kidman Best Actress 2002 Nominee
Broadcast Film Critics Association Nicole Kidman Best Actress 2002 Nominee
Berlin International Film Festival Nicole Kidman Silver Bear for Best Actress 2003 Winner
Broadcast Film Critics Association Nicole Kidman Best Actress 2003 Nominee
Los Angeles Film Critics Association Philip Glass Best Musical Score (Runner-up) 2002 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Philip Glass Best Original Score 2002 Nominee
Broadcast Film Critics Association Philip Glass Best Composer 2002 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Philip Glass Best Score 2002 Nominee
Broadcast Film Critics Association Philip Glass Best Score 2003 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Scott Rudin Best Picture 2002 Nominee
Los Angeles Film Critics Association Julianne Moore Best Actress 2002 Winner
Screen Actors Guild Julianne Moore Best Supporting Actress 2002 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Julianne Moore Best Supporting Actress 2002 Nominee
Berlin International Film Festival Julianne Moore Silver Bear for Best Actress 2003 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Stephen Daldry Best Director 2002 Nominee
Directors Guild of America Stephen Daldry Best Director 2002 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Stephen Daldry Best Director 2002 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Robert Fox Best Picture 2002 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Ann Roth Best Costume Design 2002 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Peter Boyle Best Editing 2002 Nominee
Toronto Film Critics Association David Hare Best Screenplay [Runner-up] 2002 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association David Hare Best Screenplay 2002 Nominee
Writers Guild of America David Hare Best Adapted Screenplay 2002 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences David Hare Best Adapted Screenplay 2002 Nominee

Cast

Meryl Streep
as Clarissa Vaughn
Julianne Moore
as Laura Brown
Nicole Kidman
as Virginia Woolf
Ed Harris
as Richard Brown
Toni Collette
as Kitty
Claire Danes
as Julia Vaughan
Jeff Daniels
as Louis Waters
Stephen Dillane
as Leonard Woolf
Allison Janney
as Sally Lester
John C. Reilly
as Dan Brown
Miranda Richardson
as Vanessa Bell
Eileen Atkins
as Barbara in the flower shop
Margo Martindale
as Mrs. Latch
Linda Bassett
as Nelly Boxall
Jack Rovello
as Richie Brown
Carmen de Lavallade
as Clarissa's Neighbor
Colin Stinton
as Hotel Clerk
Michael Culkin
as Doctor
Daniel Brocklebank
as Rodney
George Loftus
as Quentin Bell
Charley Ramm
as Julian Bell
Sophie Wyburd
as Angelica Bell
Lyndsay Marshal
as Lottie Hope
Christian Coulson
as Ralph Partridge

Crew

Stephen Daldry
Director
Scott Rudin
Producer
Robert Fox
Producer
David Hare
Screenwriter
Michael Cunningham
Book Author
Seamus Mcgarvey
Cinematographer
Philip Glass
Composer (Music Score)
Peter Boyle
Editor
Maria Djurkovic
Production Designer
Judy Rhee
Art Director
Mark Raggett
Supervising Art Director
Nick Palmer
Art Director
Ian MacNeil
Associate Producer
Marieke Spencer
Associate Producer
Mark Huffam
Executive Producer
Barbara Peterson
Set Designer
Harriet Zucker
Set Designer
Philippa Hart
Set Designer
Ann Roth
Costume Designer
David Crozier
Sound/Sound Designer
Gary Alper
Sound/Sound Designer
Tony Dawe
Sound/Sound Designer
Stephen Lee Davis
First Assistant Director
Nick Heckstall-Smith
First Assistant Director
Daniel Swee
Casting
Patsy Pollock
Casting
Ken Bates
Second Unit Director
Warren Shaw
Supervising Sound Editor
Conor O'Sullivan
Prosthetic Makeup Effects
Lynn Bernay
Costume/Wardrobe
Advertisement