Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Horse Soldiers Details


Based on an actual Civil War mission, Colonel Marlowe (John Wayne) and Major Kendall (William Holden) are ordered by General Grant to take three regiments 300 miles into enemy territory. They must destroy the railroad line between Newton Station and Vicksburg in hopes of choking off supplies to the South. Marlowe encounters a Southern belle loyal to the enemy, and keeps her in sight throughout the journey so she can't warn the Confederates. Kendall, a Northern surgeon, and the crusty Marlowe have their differences along the way. Action, romance and gory battlefield surgery accompany the army as the mission is completed. John Ford directed this film based on a novel by Harold Sinclair. ~ Dan Pavlides, Rovi


Awarded by
Directors Guild of America John Ford Best Director 1959 Nominee


John Wayne
as Col. John Marlowe
William Holden
as Maj. Hank Kendall
Constance Towers
as Hannah Hunter
Althea Gibson
as Lukey
Hoot Gibson
as Brown
Anna Lee
as Mrs. Buford
Russell Simpson
as Sheriff Capt. Henry Goodboy
Carleton Young
as Col. Jonathan Miles
Basil Ruysdael
as Commandant, Jefferson Military Academy
Cliff Lyons
as Sergeant
Ron Hagerthy
as Bugler
Stuart Holmes
as Passenger to Newton Station
Hank Worden
as Deacon Clump
Denver Pyle
as Jagger Jo
Fred Kennedy
as Soldier
Jan Stine
as Dying Man
Jack Pennick
as Sgt. Maj. Mitchell
William Forrest
as Gen. Hurlbut
Sam Harris
as Confederate Major
Sam Harris
as Passenger to Newton Station
Charles Seel
as Newton Station commander
Fred Graham
as Union soldier
Willis B. Bouchey
as Col. Phil Secord
Danny Borzage
Walter Reed
as Union officer
William Henry
as Union officer
Bing Russell
as Dunker
Judson Pratt
as Sgt. Maj. Kirby
Strother Martin
as Virgil
Ken Curtis
as Wilkie
William Leslie
as Maj. Gray, Confederate artillery


John Ford
John Lee Mahin
Martin Rackin
Martin Rackin
Harold Sinclair
Book Author
John Lee Mahin
William H. Clothier
David Buttolph
Composer (Music Score)
Frank Hotaling
Art Director
Jack Solomon
Sound/Sound Designer
Augie Lohman
Special Effects
Wingate Smith
First Assistant Director
Webb Overlander