Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Honky Tonk Freeway Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

In this involved send-up of two American icons -- the automobile and the tourist trap -- the tiny Florida town of Ticlaw strives desperately for success after it has been denied the most essential of all tourist amenities -- a freeway exit. The insane, and mostly successful, schemes of the mayor ([[Performer~P18805~William Devane~williamdevane]]) and other distinctly unbalanced citizens interrupt, often hilariously, the lives of various eccentric travellers forced into a place they never intended to be. Critics disagree violently on whether this is a neglected classic or sophomoric nonsense. The winning record of director ([[Performer~P110215~John Schlesinger~johnschlesinger]]) ([[Feature~V32558~Midnight Cowboy~midnightcowboy]], [[Feature~V31373~Marathon Man~marathonman]], [[Feature~V134967~Cold Comfort Farm~coldcomfortfarm]], etc.,) and first-class performances by [[Performer~P18805~William Devane~williamdevane]], [[Performer~P3196~Beau Bridges~beaubridges]], [[Performer~P16443~Beverly D'Angelo~beverlydangelo]], [[Performer~P15864~Hume Cronyn~humecronyn]], JessicaTandy and a plethora of great character actors -- not to mention the water-skiing elephant and the wild rhino -- argue that it's worth a look. ~ Michael P. Rogers, Rovi

Cast

Beau Bridges
as Duane Hansen
Hume Cronyn
as Sherm
Beverly D'Angelo
as Carmen Shelby
William Devane
as Mayor Kirby T. Calo
George Dzundza
as Eugene
Teri Garr
as Ericka
Joe Grifasi
as Osvaldo
Howard Hesseman
as Snapper
Paul Jabara
as T.J. Tupus
Geraldine Page
as Sister Mary Clarise
Jessica Tandy
as Carol
Deborah Rush
as Sister Mary Magdalen
Frances Lee McCain
as Claire Calo
Alice Beardsley
as Betty Boo Radley
Gordon Haight
as Kevin
Jerry Hardin
as Governor
Martha Gehman
as Hitchhiker
Daniel Stern
as Hitchhiker

Crew

John Schlesinger
Director
Howard W. Koch
Producer
Don Boyd
Producer
Fritz Manes
Producer
Gene Kirkwood
Producer
Edward Clinton
Screenwriter
John Bailey
Cinematographer
Steve Dorff
Composer (Music Score)
Elmer Bernstein
Composer (Music Score)
Jim Clark
Editor
Ferdinando Scarfiotti
Production Designer
Edwin O'Donovan
Art Director
Ann Roth
Costume Designer
Larry Jost
Sound/Sound Designer
Benjamin Rosenberg
First Assistant Director
Advertisement