Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Honey, I Shrunk the Kids Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Erstwhile inventor Prof. Wayne Szalinski ([[Performer~P103436~Rick Moranis~rickmoranis]]) has been experimenting with an electromagnetic shrinking machine. He leaves the device unattended in his attic; shortly afterward, it is accidentally activated. Alas, the demon machine is aimed at his children, as well as the son of neighbor Russ Thompson ([[Performer~P25053~Matt Frewer~mattfrewer]]). The kids, shrunk to 1/4-inch height, are tossed into the trash bin by the unwitting Szalinski. For the rest of the film, our teeny-tiny protagonists attempt to gain their parents' attention -- and to survive the wilds of the backyard, where all sorts of dangers, from bumblebees to lawnmowers, threaten their well-being. Honey, I Shrunk the Kids features [[Performer~P68631~Marcia Strassman~marciastrassman]] as [[Performer~P103436~Moranis~rickmoranis]]' wife, and juvenile players [[Performer~P54004~Robert Oliveri~robertoliveri]], [[Performer~P227843~Kristine Sutherland~kristinesutherland]], [[Performer~P9034~Thomas Brown~thomaswilsonbrown]], [[Performer~P62164~Jared Rushton~jaredrushton]], and [[Performer~P53591~Amy O'Neill~amyoneill]]. The visual effects are the handiwork of such masters as [[Performer~P96246~Joe Johnston~joejohnston]], [[Performer~P114223~Phil Tippett~philtippett]], and [[Performer~P79362~David Allen~davidallen]]. When originally released to theaters, Honey, I Shrunk the Kids was double-billed with the Roger Rabbit cartoon [[Feature~V144312~Tummy Trouble~tummytrouble]]; this is how it is presented on videotape as well. The film (the live-action one, that is) prompted a 1992 sequel, [[Feature~V22984~Honey, I Blew Up the Kid~honeyiblewupthekid]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:November 30, 1990

Cast

Rick Moranis
as Prof. Wayne Szalinski
Matt Frewer
as Big Russ Thompson
Marcia Strassman
as Diane Szalinski
Kristine Sutherland
as Mae Thompson
Jared Rushton
as Ron Thompson
Amy O'Neill
as Amy Szalinski
Robert Oliveri
as Nick Szalinski
Trevor Galtress
as Male Cop
Kathleen Turner
Charles Fleischer
Mark L. Taylor
as Don Forrester
Thomas Wilson Brown
as Little Russ Thompson
Carl Steven
as Tommy Pervis
Janet Sunderland
as Lauren Boorstein
Kimmy Robertson
as Gloria Forrester
Laura Waterbury
as Female Cop
Lou Cutell
as Dr. Brainard
Lou Hirsch
Martin Aylett
as Harold Boorstein
April Winchell

Crew

Joe Johnston
Director
Stuart Gordon
Producer
Steven Spielberg
Producer
Thomas G. Smith
Producer
Tom Schulman
Screenwriter
Ed Naha
Screenwriter
Hiro Narita
Cinematographer
James Horner
Composer (Music Score)
Michael A. Stevenson
Editor
Gregg Fonseca
Production Designer
Dorree Cooper
Art Director
John Iacovelli
Art Director
Penney Finkelman Cox
Co-producer
Brian Yuzna
Co-producer
Jon Landau
Co-producer
Steven Saxton
Associate Producer
Carol Brolaski
Costume Designer
David Allen
Special Effects
Frank Welker
Special Effects
Lynda Gordon
Casting
Judy Taylor
Casting
Mike Fenton
Casting
Del Armstrong
Makeup
Advertisement