Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Holy Man Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P94115~Stephen Herek~stephenherek]] directed this comedy-drama in which soul-less exec Ricky Hayman ([[Performer~P27435~Jeff Goldblum~jeffgoldblum]]), programmer for the failing Good Buy Shopping Network, is dismayed by a request to increase sales in two weeks. Bald do-gooder guru G. ([[Performer~P51440~Eddie Murphy~eddiemurphy]]) assists when Ricky and marketing director Kate ([[Performer~P57732~Kelly Preston~kellypreston]]) get a freeway flat. When G. passes out, tests indicate a heart murmur and heat prostration, so the robed prophet becomes Ricky's house guest. At a party, G. uses hypnosis and psychology to rid guest [[Performer~P198975~Nino Cerruti~ninocerruti]] (portraying himself) of his flying fears. Ricky witnesses this and gets the notion to put G. on the air. Unfortunately, G. ignores both cue cards and on-sale products, prompting station owner McBainbridge ([[Performer~P42988~Robert Loggia~robertloggia]]) to calculate Ricky's severance pay. He's back on the job when both sales and ratings soar. The situation eventually causes Ricky to reexamine how his own values became lost in the labyrinth of corporate consumerism. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:October 9, 1998

Cast

Eddie Murphy
as G.
Jeff Goldblum
as Ricky Hayman
Kelly Preston
as Kate Newell
Robert Loggia
as John McBainbridge
Jon Cryer
as Barry
Eric McCormack
as Scott Hawkes
Sam Kitchin
as Control Room Director
Robert Small
as Assistant Director
Marc Macaulay
as Brutus
Morgan Fairchild
as herself
Nino Cerruti
as himself
Edge
as TV Producer

Crew

Stephen Herek
Director
Stephen Herek
Producer
Tom Schulman
Screenwriter
Adrian Biddle
Cinematographer
Alan Silvestri
Composer (Music Score)
Trudy Ship
Editor
Andrew McAlpine
Production Designer
James Tocci
Art Director
Rebekah Rudd
Co-producer
Jonathan Glickman
Executive Producer
Jeffrey Chernov
Executive Producer
Richard Fojo
Set Designer
Chris Spellman
Set Designer
Aggie Guerard Rodgers
Costume Designer
Peter Devlin
Sound/Sound Designer
Jeffrey Wetzel
First Assistant Director
Cathy Sandrich
Casting
Amanda Mackey-Johnson
Casting
David R. Ellis
Second Unit Director
Jeannette Browning
ADR Recordist
Advertisement