Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Holy Motors Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

This freewheeling surrealist outing from France attempts to dispense almost completely with conventional narrative structure; instead, it offers a series of absurdist sketches with scarcely any discernible connection between them. The film opens on a character played by director [[Performer~P84100~Leos Carax~leoscarax]] known only as "Le Dormeur." After waking up one morning, he somehow locates and opens a secret door in his apartment, and wanders into a packed movie house where an audience watches [[Performer~P115411~King Vidor~kingvidor]]'s classic [[Feature~V11636~The Crowd~thecrowd]] and a giant dog wanders up and down the aisles. Meanwhile, Oscar ([[Performer~P40834~Denis Lavant~denislavant]]) rides to work in a white limousine driven by his close friend and associate Céline ([[Performer~P63996~Edith Scob~edithscob]]); Oscar's job, it seems, involves using makeup, elaborate costumes, and props to carry out a number of complex and unusual scenarios. Of these, one has the actor performing an action sequence and simulated sex with an actress on a soundstage while he's filmed by an off-camera director. The second sequence puts him in a sewer with Monsieur Merde, a character who first appeared in [[Performer~P84100~Carax~leoscarax]]'s segment in the omnibus picture [[Feature~V390670~Tokyo!~tokyo]]; here, Merde falls in love with a beautiful model ([[Performer~P277850~Eva Mendes~evamendes]]) who accompanies him on a jaunt through a cemetery. Subsequent episodes cast Oscar in a deathbed melodrama, a gangster film, a musical alongside pop star [[Performer~P197071~Kylie Minogue~kylieminogue]], and much more. At one point in the picture, [[Performer~P84100~Carax~leoscarax]] implies that Oscar may be acting these scenes out for hidden cameras, which are webcasting the episodes for Internet surfers. An intriguing footnote: Movie buffs may experience some déjà vu while watching [[Performer~P63996~Scob~edithscob]] in this film, as she's deliberately used to invoke her characterization from [[Performer~P90345~Georges Franju~georgesfranju]]'s 1960 horror classic [[Feature~V23145~Eyes without a Face~eyeswithoutaface]], and at one point, even wears a facial mask similar to the one she donned in that picture. Holy Motors marked [[Performer~P84100~Carax~leoscarax]]'s first feature since the 1999 [[Feature~V177523~Pola X~polax]]. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

  • Release date:October 17, 2012

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Los Angeles Film Critics Association Denis Lavant Best Actor - Runner-up 2012 Winner

Cast

Denis Lavant
as M. Oscar
Denis Lavant
as Le banquier
Denis Lavant
as La mendiante
Denis Lavant
as L'OS de Motion-Capture
Denis Lavant
as M. Merde
Denis Lavant
as Le père
Denis Lavant
as L'accordéoniste
Denis Lavant
as Le tueur
Denis Lavant
as Le tué
Denis Lavant
as Le mourant
Denis Lavant
as L'homme au foyer
Edith Scob
as Céline
Kylie Minogue
as Eva Grace
Kylie Minogue
as Jean
Eva Mendes
as Kay M
Michel Piccoli
as The Man with the Birthmark
Leos Carax
as le rêveur
Geoffrey Carey
Elise Caron

Crew

Leos Carax
Director
Martine Mariganc
Producer
Maurice Tinchant
Producer
Leos Carax
Screenwriter
Caroline Champetier
Cinematographer
Yves Cape
Cinematographer
Nelly Quettier
Editor
Anais Romand
Costume Designer
Emmanuel Croset
Sound/Sound Designer
Katia Boutin
Sound/Sound Designer
Erwan Kerzanet
Sound/Sound Designer
Jean-Christophe Spadaccini
Makeup Special Effects
Mathilde Profit
Script Supervisor
Bernard Floch
Department Head Hair
Bernard Floch
Department Head Makeup
Denis Gastou
Makeup Special Effects
Advertisement