Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Hollow Man Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

In this sci-fi thriller, a man and a woman must fend off a killer whom they cannot see. Scientist Sebastian Caine ([[Performer~P3164~Kevin Bacon~kevinbacon]]) is working with a secret military research team headed by Dr. Kramer ([[Performer~P18805~William Devane~williamdevane]]), assigned to create new intelligence technology. With the help of his colleagues Linda McKay ([[Performer~P65475~Elisabeth Shue~elisabethshue]]) and Matt Kensington ([[Performer~P8657~Josh Brolin~joshbrolin]]), Sebastian has been developing a serum that makes people invisible. The formula is new and unstable, but after a risky but successful test on an ape, an impatient Sebastian, under pressure from Kramer, decides to try it on himself. It works, but no one counted on the side effects; unable to reverse the serum's effects, an invisible Sebastian goes insane, and begins pursuing Linda (his former girlfriend) and Matt (Linda's current beau) in a fog of homicidal rage. Directed by [[Performer~P206576~Paul Verhoeven~paulverhoeven]], Hollow Man also features [[Performer~P199935~Kim Dickens~kimdickens]], Mary Randle, [[Performer~P266546~Joey Slotnick~joeyslotnick]], and [[Performer~P219783~Greg Grunberg~greggrunberg]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:August 4, 2000

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Scott Stokdyk Best Visual Effects 2000 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Stan Parks Best Visual Effects 2000 Nominee

Cast

Kevin Bacon
as Sebastian Caine
Elisabeth Shue
as Linda McKay
Josh Brolin
as Matt Kensington
Greg Grunberg
as Carter Abby
Mary Jo Randle
as Janice
Steve Altes
as Dad
Kim Dickens
as Sarah
Joey Slotnick
as Frank
William Devane
as Dr. Kramer
Rhona Mitra
as Sebastian's neighbor

Crew

Paul Verhoeven
Director
Alan Marshall
Producer
Andrew W. Marlowe
Screenwriter
Andrew W. Marlowe
Screen Story
Jost Vacano
Cinematographer
Jerry Goldsmith
Composer (Music Score)
Mark Goldblatt
Editor
Allan Cameron
Production Designer
Stacy Lumbrezer
Co-producer
Kenneth J. Silverstein
Associate Producer
Marion Rosenberg
Executive Producer
John M. Dwyer
Set Designer
Daniel R. Jennings
Set Designer
John M. Dwyer
Set Decorator
Ellen Mirojnick
Costume Designer
Joseph Geisinger
Sound/Sound Designer
Sony Pictures Imageworks
Special Effects
Tippett Studio
Special Effects
Louis D'Esposito
First Assistant Director
Eric Pascarelli
Camera Operator
Howard Feuer
Casting
Stan Parks
Special Effects Coordinator
Alec Gillis
Makeup Special Effects
Anette Haellmigk
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Tom Woodruff, Jr.
Makeup Special Effects
Scott Stokdyk
Digital Effects
Tippett Studio
Visual Effects
Sony Pictures Imageworks
Visual Effects
B. Z. Petroff
Visual Effects Producer
Advertisement