Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

His Girl Friday Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The second screen version of the [[Performer~P93876~Ben Hecht~benhecht]]/[[Performer~P100518~Charles MacArthur~charlesmacarthur]] play The Front Page, His Girl Friday changed hard-driving newspaper reporter Hildy Johnson from a man to a woman, transforming the story into a scintillating battle of the sexes. [[Performer~P62246~Rosalind Russell~rosalindrussell]] plays Hildy, about to foresake journalism for marriage to cloddish Bruce Baldwin ([[Performer~P5165~Ralph Bellamy~ralphbellamy]]). [[Performer~P28204~Cary Grant~carygrant]] plays Walter Burns, Hildy's editor and ex-husband, who feigns happiness about her impending marriage as a ploy to win her back. The ace up Walter's sleeve is a late-breaking news story concerning the impending execution of anarchist Earl Williams ([[Performer~P58164~John Qualen~johnqualen]]), a blatant example of political chicanery that Hildy can't pass up. The story gets hotter when Williams escapes and is hidden from the cops by Hildy and Walter--right in the prison pressroom. His Girl Friday may well be the fastest comedy of the 1930s, with kaleidoscope action, instantaneous plot twists, and overlapping dialogue. And if you listen closely, you'll hear a couple of "in" jokes, one concerning [[Performer~P28204~Cary Grant~carygrant]]'s real name (Archie Leach), and another poking fun at Ralph Bellamy's patented "poor sap" screen image. Subsequent versions of [[Feature~V18777~The Front Page~thefrontpage]] included [[Performer~P116768~Billy Wilder~billywilder]]'s 1974 adaptation, which restored Hildy Johnson's manhood in the form of [[Performer~P99306~Jack Lemmon~jacklemmon]], and 1988's [[Feature~V48201~Switching Channels~switchingchannels]], which cast [[Performer~P108069~Burt Reynolds~burtreynolds]] in the Walter Burns role and [[Performer~P72173~Kathleen Turner~kathleenturner]] as the Hildy Johnson counterpart. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:September 21, 1940

Cast

Cary Grant
as Walter Burns
Rosalind Russell
as Hildy Johnson
Ralph Bellamy
as Bruce Baldwin
Gene Lockhart
as Sheriff Hartwell
Helen Mack
as Mollie Malloy
Porter Hall
as Murphy
John Qualen
as Earl Williams
Ernest Truex
as Roy Bensinger
Cliff Edwards
as Endicott
Clarence Kolb
as Mayor
Roscoe Karns
as McCue
Frank Jenks
as Wilson
Regis Toomey
as Sanders
Abner Biberman
as Diamond Louie
Frank Orth
as Duffy
Alma Kruger
as Mrs. Baldwin
Billy Gilbert
as Joe Pettibone
Pat West
as Warden Cooley
Edwin Maxwell
as Dr. Egelhoffer
Earl Dwire
as Mr. Davis
Pat Flaherty
Ralph Dunn
as Guard
Marion Martin
Irving Bacon
as Gus
Edmund Cobb
as Cop
Wade Boteler
as Jail Guard

Crew

Howard Hawks
Director
Howard Hawks
Producer
Charles MacArthur
Play Author
Charles Lederer
Screenwriter
Ben Hecht
Play Author
Joseph Walker
Cinematographer
Morris W. Stoloff
Composer (Music Score)
Morris W. Stoloff
Musical Direction/Supervision
Gene Havlick
Editor
Robert Kalloch
Costume Designer
Advertisement