Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

High Fidelity Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A man discovers that there's more to love than a good mixed tape in this dramatic comedy about music and relationships. Rob ([[Performer~P16329~John Cusack~johncusack]]), an obsessive record collector in his mid-thirties, is struggling to reconcile his adolescent enthusiasm for pop music with adult responsibilities and a more mature outlook. He runs a record shop with his friends Barry ([[Performer~P195232~Jack Black~jackblack]]) and Dick ([[Performer~P43405~Todd Louiso~toddlouiso]]), who are known to drive away customers whose taste in music doesn't match their exacting standards -- which may have something to do with why the shop is losing money. But Rob's biggest problem is his failing relationship with Laura ([[Performer~P267030~Iben Hjejle~ibenhjejle]]), a lawyer who needs more out of the relationship than Rob is capable of giving. To Rob's horror, Laura starts dating Ian ([[Performer~P108437~Tim Robbins~timrobbins]]), his upstairs neighbor, known throughout the building for his long and noisy sex sessions. Rob, on the other hand, finds himself catching the attention of singer/songwriter Marie DeSalle ([[Performer~P7255~Lisa Bonet~lisabonet]]), as he tries to deal with his breakup by tracking down his previous ex-girlfriends and taking a fresh look at what he's been doing wrong. Based on the acclaimed novel by [[Performer~P224646~Nick Hornby~nickhornby]], High Fidelity also features [[Performer~P36062~Catherine Zeta-Jones~catherinezetajones]], [[Performer~P70063~Lili Taylor~lilitaylor]], and [[Performer~P266566~Joelle Carter~joellecarter]] as three of Rob's ex-lovers, and [[Performer~P26869~Sara Gilbert~saragilbert]] as Dick's new girlfriend, who gets a crash course in U.K. punk bands that influenced [[Performer~P306597~Green Day~greenday]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:March 17, 2000

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Steve Pink Best Adapted Screenplay 2000 Nominee
Writers Guild of America Steve Pink Best Adapted Screenplay 2000 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts John Cusack Best Adapted Screenplay 2000 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association John Cusack Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Drama 2000 Nominee
Writers Guild of America John Cusack Best Adapted Screenplay 2000 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Scott Rosenberg Best Adapted Screenplay 2000 Nominee
Writers Guild of America Scott Rosenberg Best Adapted Screenplay 2000 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts D.V. DeVincentis Best Adapted Screenplay 2000 Nominee
Writers Guild of America D.V. DeVincentis Best Adapted Screenplay 2000 Nominee

Cast

John Cusack
as Rob Gordon
Iben Hjejle
as Laura
Jack Black
as Barry
Todd Louiso
as Dick
Lisa Bonet
as Marie DeSalle
Joan Cusack
as Liz
Sara Gilbert
as Anaugh
Joelle Carter
as Penny
Catherine Zeta-Jones
as Charlie
Chris Rehmann
as Vince
Tim Robbins
as Ian
Bruce Springsteen
as himself
Lili Taylor
as Sarah
Natasha Gregson Wagner
as Caroline
Ben Carr
as Justin
Drake Bell

Crew

Stephen Frears
Director
Tim Bevan
Producer
John Cusack
Producer
Rudd Simmons
Producer
D.V. DeVincentis
Producer
D.V. DeVincentis
Screenwriter
Scott Rosenberg
Screenwriter
Steve Pink
Screenwriter
John Cusack
Screenwriter
Nick Hornby
Book Author
Seamus Mcgarvey
Cinematographer
Howard Shore
Composer (Music Score)
Kathy Nelson
Musical Direction/Supervision
Mick Audsley
Editor
Therese DePrez
Production Designer
David Chapman
Production Designer
Nicholas Lundy
Art Director
Steve Pink
Co-producer
D.V. DeVincentis
Co-producer
Alan Greenspan
Executive Producer
Liza Chasin
Executive Producer
Mike Newell
Executive Producer
Laura Cunningham-Bauer
Costume Designer
Petur Hliddal
Sound/Sound Designer
Jeffrey Wetzel
First Assistant Director
Victoria Thomas
Casting
Advertisement