Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

High Society Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

High Society is a glossy Technicolor-and-VistaVision musical remake of [[Performer~P158300~Philip Barry~philipbarry]]'s [[Feature~V38000~The Philadelphia Story~thephiladelphiastory]] (1940), decked out with million-watt star power and a [[Performer~P106882~Cole Porter~coleporter]] score. Set amongst the rich and famous in Newport, RI, the story revolves around the wedding plans of socialite Tracy Lord ([[Performer~P37518~Grace Kelly~gracekelly]]). Tracy is all set to marry stuffy George Kittridge ([[Performer~P43763~John Lund~johnlund]]), while magazine writer Mike Connor ([[Performer~P111632~Frank Sinatra~franksinatra]]) and photographer Liz Imbrie ([[Performer~P32955~Celeste Holm~celesteholm]]) intend to cover the ceremony. Meanwhile, Tracy's ex-husband C.K. Dexter-Haven ([[Performer~P15874~Bing Crosby~bingcrosby]]) also comes calling, ostensibly to the attend the annual Newport Jazz Festival, but actually for the purpose of winning Tracy back. In the course of events, Mike falls in love with Tracy, and she with him. The Jazz Festival subplot allows scriptwriter [[Performer~P217620~John Patrick~johnpatrick]] to bring [[Performer~P2289~Louis Armstrong~louisarmstrong]] into the proceedings, much to the delight of anyone who cares anything about music. The [[Performer~P106882~Cole Porter~coleporter]] tunes include the [[Performer~P15874~Crosby~bingcrosby]]-[[Performer~P111632~Sinatra~franksinatra]] duet "Well, Did You Evah?," the [[Performer~P15874~Crosby~bingcrosby]]-[[Performer~P2289~Armstrong~louisarmstrong]] teaming "Now You Has Jazz," the [[Performer~P37518~Kelly~gracekelly]]-[[Performer~P15874~Crosby~bingcrosby]] romantic ballad "True Love," and the [[Performer~P111632~Sinatra~franksinatra]] solo "You're Sensational." Though it lacks the satiric edge of the [[Performer~P158300~Philip Barry~philipbarry]] original ([[Performer~P158300~Barry~philipbarry]], incidentally, is not given any screen credit), High Society succeeds on its own lighthearted terms. The film represents [[Performer~P37518~Grace Kelly~gracekelly]]'s final acting assignment before her real-life wedding to Prince Rainier of Monaco. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:July 17, 1956

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Edward Bernds Best Story 1956 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Johnny Green Best Musical Score 1956 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Saul Chaplin Best Musical Score 1956 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Cole Porter Best Song 1956 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Elwood Ullman Best Story 1956 Nominee

Cast

Bing Crosby
as C.K. Dexter-Haven
Grace Kelly
as Tracy Lord
Frank Sinatra
as Mike Connor
Celeste Holm
as Liz Imbrie
John Lund
as George Kittredge
Louis Calhern
as Uncle Willie
Louis Armstrong
as Himself
Sidney Blackmer, Sr.
as Seth Lord
Margalo Gillmore
as Mrs. Seth Lord
Gordon Richards
as Dexter-Haven's Butler
Paul Keast
as Editor
Reginald Simpson
as Uncle Willie's Butler
Richard Keene
as Mac
Ruth Lee
as Matron
Helen Spring
as Matron
Hugh Boswell
as Parson

Crew

Charles Walters
Director
Sol C. Siegel
Producer
Paul Vogel
Cinematographer
Saul Chaplin
Musical Direction/Supervision
Cole Porter
Songwriter
Johnny Green
Musical Direction/Supervision
Ralph Winters
Editor
Hans Peters
Art Director
Cedric Gibbons
Art Director
Edwin B. Willis
Set Designer
Richard A. Pefferle
Set Designer
Helen Rose
Costume Designer
Arnold A. Gillespie
Special Effects
Charles Walters
Choreography
William J. Tuttle
Makeup
Advertisement