Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

High Crimes Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Defense attorney Claire Kubik ([[Performer~P36453~Ashley Judd~ashleyjudd]]) seems to have the perfect life. She has a high profile job at a big firm, a beautiful home outside San Francisco, and a husband, Tom ([[Performer~P11903~James Caviezel~jamescaviezel]] of [[Feature~V174294~The Thin Red Line~thethinredline]]), who loves her. Claire's biggest problem appears to be that she wants to have a baby, and she's having trouble getting pregnant. But when the police investigate a routine break-in at her home, they uncover the truth about her husband's identity, and her life is thrown into turmoil. Claire finds out that her husband's name is actually Ron Chapman, and that he's an ex-marine accused of murdering seven innocent civilians in El Salvador during a raid in the late '80s. He admits that he was there, and that he changed his identity to escape prosecution for the crimes, but he insists that he's innocent, and that the massacre was committed by another soldier under the orders of a powerful general ([[Performer~P17454~Bruce Davison~brucedavison]]), who is using Ron as a patsy to cover it up. Claire is eventually convinced that Ron's telling the truth. Faced with defending her husband in an unfamiliar military courtroom, Claire enlists the aid of Charles Grimes ([[Performer~P90514~Morgan Freeman~morganfreeman]]), an ex-Army judge advocate with an axe to grind. Stonewalled by the military bureaucracy at every turn, they uncover a web of deception and disappearing witnesses, and they soon find their own lives in danger. High Crimes was adapted from Joseph Finder's novel by the husband and wife screenwriting team of [[Performer~P117903~Yuri Zeltser~yurizeltser]] and Cary Bickley. The film was directed by [[Performer~P90385~Carl Franklin~carlfranklin]] ([[Feature~V36360~One False Move~onefalsemove]]), and co-stars [[Performer~P215968~Amanda Peet~amandapeet]] and Adam Scott. ~ Josh Ralske, Rovi

  • Release date:April 5, 2002

Cast

Ashley Judd
as Claire Kubik
Morgan Freeman
as Charles Grimes
James Caviezel
as Ron Chapman alias Tom Kubik
Amanda Peet
as Jackie Heller
Tom Bower
as Mullins
Adam Scott
as Embry
Bruce Davison
as Brig. General Marks
Juan Carlos Hernandez
as Major Hernandez
Michael Gaston
as Major Waldron
Jude Ciccolella
as Colonel Farrell
Emilio Rivera
as Salvadoran Man
Michael Shannon
as Abbott
John Billingsley
as Oshman

Crew

Carl Franklin
Director
Jesse B'Franklin
Producer
Arnon Milchan
Producer
Janet Yang
Producer
Yuri Zeltser
Screenwriter
Joseph Finder
Book Author
Cary Bickley
Screenwriter
Theo Van de Sande
Cinematographer
Graeme Revell
Composer (Music Score)
Carole Kravetz-Aykanian
Editor
Paul Peters
Production Designer
Gary Kosko
Art Director
Naomi Despres
Co-producer
Dennis E. Jones
Associate Producer
Lisa Henson
Executive Producer
Kevin Reidy
Executive Producer
Kathryn Peters
Set Designer
Josh Lusby
Set Designer
Dean Wolcott
Set Designer
Sharen Davis
Costume Designer
Steve Nelson
Sound/Sound Designer
Michele Panelli-Venetis
First Assistant Director
Mario Roberts
Stunts
Mali Finn
Casting
Advertisement