Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

High Anxiety Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

This is [[Performer~P83158~Mel Brooks~melbrooks]]' spoof of over ten [[Performer~P94487~Alfred Hitchcock~alfredhitchcock]] classics, including [[Feature~V39578~Psycho~psycho]], [[Feature~V52324~Vertigo~vertigo]], and [[Feature~V5727~The Birds~thebirds]] ([[Performer~P83158~Brooks~melbrooks]] actually used the bird trainer from that classic suspense movie in making his film). [[Performer~P83158~Brooks~melbrooks]] plays Dr. Richard H. Thorndyke, a renowned Harvard psychiatrist with a concealed fear of heights, or High Anxiety. Thorndyke takes over as the newest director of the PsychoNeurotic Institute for the Very, Very Nervous after the last director dies under suspicious circumstances. He soon finds himself to be in the company of some very strange colleagues, including longtime [[Performer~P83158~Brooks~melbrooks]] collaborators [[Performer~P41211~Cloris Leachman~clorisleachman]] and [[Performer~P39121~Harvey Korman~harveykorman]], with [[Performer~P36650~Madeline Kahn~madelinekahn]] as Victoria Brisbane, the eccentric daughter of a patient at the institute and Thorndyke's love interest. [[Performer~P39121~Korman~harveykorman]] takes on the role of Dr. Charles Montague, a psychiatrist with a closeted habit of his own. [[Performer~P41211~Leachman~clorisleachman]] plays Charlotte Diesel, a charge nurse with a dark sneer and tendency towards domination. As Thorndyke heads to a psychiatry conference, he is faced with saving the Institute, his reputation, and his own sanity. Although the film was not well-received by critics, it picked up a 1978 Golden Globe nomination for best picture (musical or comedy) and landed [[Performer~P83158~Brooks~melbrooks]] a nomination for best actor. The movie has a number of cameos, from a young [[Performer~P99530~Barry Levinson~barrylevinson]]'s spot as an unstable bellboy to a small part by [[Performer~P94487~Hitchcock~alfredhitchcock]]'s right-hand special effects man, [[Performer~P116650~Albert J. Whitlock~albertjwhitlock]], who plays [[Performer~P36650~Kahn~madelinekahn]]'s father. ~ Rachel Koetje, Rovi

  • Release date:December 25, 1977

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Mel Brooks Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1977 Nominee

Cast

Mel Brooks
as Richard H. Thorndyke
Madeline Kahn
as Victoria Brisbane
Cloris Leachman
as Nurse Charlotte Diesel
Harvey Korman
as Dr. Charles Montague
Ron Carey
as Brophy
Howard Morris
as Prof. Lilloman
Dick Van Patten
as Dr. Philip Wentworth
Jack Riley
as The Desk Clerk
Charlie Callas
as Cocker Spaniel
Ron Clark
as Zachary Cartwright
Rudy de Luca
as Killer
Barry Levinson
as Bellboy
Albert J. Whitlock
as Arthur Brisbane
Bryan Englund
as Orderly #2
Robert Ridgely
as Flasher
Eddie Ryder
as Doctor at Convention
Bernie Kuby
as Dr. Wilson
Hunter Von Leer
as Policeman at Airport
Ira Miller
as Psychiatrist with Children
Robin Menken
as Cocktail Waitress
Robert Manuel
as Policeman at Airport
Frank Campanella
as Bartender
Sandy Helberg
as Airport Attendant
Bullets Durgom
as Man in Phone Booth
Joe Bellan
as Male Attendant
Mitchell Bock
as Bar Patron
Lee Delano
as Norton
Arnold Soboloff
as Dr. Colburn
Henry Kaiser
as New Groom
Billy Sands
as Customer
Darrell Zwerling
as Dr. Eckhardt
Pearl Shear
as Screaming Woman at Gate
Al Hopson
as Man Who is Shot
Richard Stahl
as Dr. Baxter
Murphy Dunne
as Piano Player

Crew

Mel Brooks
Director
Mel Brooks
Producer
Barry Levinson
Screenwriter
Ron Clark
Screenwriter
Mel Brooks
Screenwriter
Rudy de Luca
Screenwriter
Mel Brooks
Songwriter
John C. Howard
Editor
Anne McCulley
Set Designer
Rick Kent
Set Designer
Albert J. Whitlock
Special Effects
Jonathan Sanger
First Assistant Director
Walter Doniger
Sound Mixer
Advertisement