Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Hereafter Details


Director Clint Eastwood delves into the mysterious world of the hereafter with this ensemble supernatural drama starring Matt Damon, Cécile De France, Jay Mohr, and Bryce Dallas Howard. In the wake of a near-death experience during a powerful tsunami, French television reporter Marie (De France) takes her married lover's advice to pen the political book she has always talked about writing. As hard as Marie tries to stay focused on the task at hand, however, she repeatedly finds her attention diverted to scientists who have been stigmatized for investigating the afterlife. Meanwhile, in America, reluctant psychic George (Matt Damon) struggles in vain to cease using his powers for profit while falling for a gorgeous stranger (Bryce Dallas Howard). All the while, his greedy brother (Jay Mohr) prods him to milk his ability for all it's worth. Over in London, a pair of inseparable twins is forcibly parted by tragedy when one of them dies suddenly. The harder the more introverted surviving twin (Frankie McLaren) attempts to reach out to his deceased brother in the afterlife, the deeper his mom sinks into heroin addiction. When his mother goes into rehab, the grieving boy is placed in foster care, and begins succumbing to his corrosive ennui. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:October 15, 2010


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Stephan Trojansky Best Visual Effects 2010 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Bryan Grill Best Visual Effects 2010 Nominee


Matt Damon
as George Lonegan
Cécile De France
as Marie Lelay
Jay Mohr
as Billy
Bryce Dallas Howard
as Melanie
Richard Kind
as Christos
Lyndsey Marshal
as Jackie
Derek Jacobi
as Himself
Marthe Keller
as Dr. Rousseau
Jenifer Lewis
as Candace
Thierry Neuvic
as Didier
Stéphane Freiss
as Guillaume Belcher
Joe Bellan
as Tony
Paul Antony-Barber
as Nigel
Jack Bence
as Ricky
Ferguson Reid
as Rescuer
Charlie Creed-Miles
as Photographer
Rebekah Staton
as Social Worker
Franz Drameh
as Teenager
Mylene Jampanoi
as Reporter Jasmine
Laurent Bateau
as TV Producer
Calum Grant
as Factory Worker
Steven R. Schirripa
as Cooking Teacher Carlo
Tom Beard
as Priest
Jean-Yves Berteloot
as Publishing Executive Michael
Niamh Cusack
as Foster Mother
George Costigan
as Foster Father
Claire Price
as Marcus' Teacher
Charlie Holliday
as Union Rep
John Nielsen
as Factory Supervisor
Anthony Allgood
as Visitor
Pearce Quigley
as Channeler
Meg Wynn Owen
as Mirror Lady
Selina Cadell
as Mrs. Joyce
Celine Sallette
as Secretary
Chloe Bale
as Hotel Receptionist


Clint Eastwood
Clint Eastwood
Robert Lorenz
Kathleen Kennedy
Peter Morgan
Tom Stern
Clint Eastwood
Composer (Music Score)
Gary D. Roach
Joel Cox
James Murakami
Production Designer
Frank Marshall
Executive Producer
Peter Morgan
Executive Producer
Steven Spielberg
Executive Producer
Deborah Hopper
Costume Designer
Gary Fettis
Set Decorator
Walt Martin
Sound Mixer
Fiona Weir
Thom Harris Williams
Stunts Coordinator
Rob Inch
Stunts Coordinator
Paul Engelen
Department Head Makeup
Kay Georgiou
Hair Styles
Gregg Rudloff
Re-Recording Mixer
Ross Dunkerley
Chief Lighting Technician
Chad Finnerty
Supervising Animator
Stephan Trojansky
Visual Effects Supervisor
Bryan Grill
Visual Effects Supervisor
John Reitz
Re-Recording Mixer
Blu Murray
Assistant Editor
Ryan Craig
Second Assistant Director
Colin Jamison
Department Head Hair
Elaine Ramires
Costumes Supervisor
Diana Edgmon
Key Costumer
Bub Asman
Supervising Sound Editor
Mike Sexton
Properties Master