Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Here Come the Waves Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

This peppy wartime musical stars [[Performer~P15874~Bing Crosby~bingcrosby]] as radio crooner Johnny Cabot, the heartthrob of millions. To escape his frenzied fans, Johnny joins the Navy, where is he ordering to aid a WAVE recruiting drive. He is helped(?) in this endeavor by [[Performer~P34174~Betty Hutton~bettyhutton]], amusingly cast in a dual role as twin sisters Susie and Rosemary, one a shy retiring brunette, the other a bold and brassy blonde ([[Performer~P45841~Vera Marshe~veramarshe]] doubles for [[Performer~P34174~Hutton~bettyhutton]] is some scenes). Part of Johnny's recruiting strategy is to stage a musical show, as good an excuse as any for a steady stream of bouncy musical numbers. This is the film in which [[Performer~P15874~Bing Crosby~bingcrosby]] and [[Performer~P72070~Sonny Tufts~sonnytufts]], both in blackface, introduce the [[Performer~P102557~Johnny Mercer~johnnymercer]]-[[Performer~P79922~Harold Arlen~haroldarlen]] standard "Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive." Sharp-eyed viewers will spot [[Performer~P17673~Yvonne de Carlo~yvonnedecarlo]], [[Performer~P24972~Mona Freeman~monafreeman]], [[Performer~P13483~Mae Clarke~maeclarke]], and [[Performer~P52121~Noel "Lois Lane" Neill~noelneill]] in small roles. Here Come the Waves was partially remade by [[Performer~P121802~Martin~deanmartin]] & [[Performer~P99633~Lewis~jerrylewis]] as [[Feature~V108679~Sailor Beware~sailorbeware]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Harold Arlen Best Song 1945 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Johnny Mercer Best Song 1945 Nominee

Cast

Bing Crosby
as Johnny Cabot
Betty Hutton
as Susie Allison
Sonny Tufts
as Windy
Ann Doran
as Ruth
Noel Neill
as Dorothy
Harry Barris
as Bandleader
Mae Clarke
as Ensign Kirk
Minor Watson
as Superior officer
Kit Guard
as Yellow Cab Driver
Greta Granstedt
as Wave Control Tower Operator
Alex Havier
as Waiter
James Flavin
as Policeman
Yvonne De Carlo
as Girl
Joel Friend
as Dancer
Jean Willes
as Fan of Johnny Cabot
Lillian Bronson
as Cabot Fan
Charles D. Brown
as Capt. Johnson
William Forrest
as Lieutenant Commander
William Haade
as Officer
Kay Linaker
as First Pretty Girl
Mona Freeman
as 1st Fainting Girl
Jimmie Dundee
as Chief Petty Officer
Cyril Ring
as Lieutenant Colonel
Anabel Shaw
as Isabel
Roberta Jonay
as Dancer
Babe London
as Girl Window Washer
Betty Hutton
as Rosemary Allison
Jack Norton
as Waiter at Cabana Club
Weldon Heyburn
as 1st Civilian
Terry Adams
as Second Pretty Girl
Oscar O'Shea
as The Commodore

Crew

Mark Sandrich
Director
Mark Sandrich
Producer
Ken Englund
Screenwriter
Zion Myers
Screenwriter
Charles B. Lang
Cinematographer
Harold Arlen
Songwriter
Harold Arlen
Composer (Music Score)
Johnny Mercer
Songwriter
Robert Emmett Dolan
Composer (Music Score)
Ellsworth Hoagland
Editor
Roland Anderson
Art Director
Hans Dreier
Art Director
Ray Moyer
Set Designer
Gordon Jennings
Special Effects
Advertisement