Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Hell Drivers Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

In this efficient British crime drama, Tom Yately ([[Performer~P3453~Stanley Baker~stanleybaker]]) is an ex-con looking for honest work. He thinks he's found it when he takes a job as a truck driver, but he soon discovers that the trucking firm he's signed on with is not playing by the rules. Red ([[Performer~P102122~Patrick McGoohan~patrickmcgoohan]]), the company's best driver, and Cartley ([[Performer~P30842~William Hartnell~williamhartnell]]), the manager, have created five fictional drivers who have been added to the payroll. The other staff drivers are given the shifts that the phony drivers are supposed to be working, while Red and Cartley divide their pay packets. When Tom attempts to expose the corruption at the trucking firm, he soon discovers that he's taken his life in his hands in the process. Keep an eye peeled for a supporting performance by a young [[Performer~P10646~Sean Connery~seanconnery]] (it was only his fifth screen role); the cast also includes [[Performer~P43011~Herbert Lom~herbertlom]], [[Performer~P34518~Jill Ireland~jillireland]], [[Performer~P16172~Peggy Cummins~peggycummins]], and [[Performer~P46912~David McCallum~davidmccallum]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Cast

Stanley Baker
as Tom Yately
Herbert Lom
as Gino
Peggy Cummins
as Lucy
Patrick McGoohan
as Red
William Hartnell
as Cartley
Jill Ireland
as Jill
Sean Connery
as Tom
Wilfred Lawson
as Ed
Sidney James
as Dusty
Alfie Bass
as Tinker
Gordon Jackson
as Scottie
David McCallum
as Jimmy Yately
Wensley Pithey
as Pop
George Murcell
as Tub
Marjorie Rhodes
as Ma West
Vera Day
as Blonde
Beatrice Varley
as Mrs. Yately
Robin Bailey
as Assistant Manager
Jerry Stovin
as Chick
John Horsley
as Doctor
Marianne Stone
as Nurse
Ronald Clarke
as Barber Joe
John Miller

Crew

Cy Raker Endfield
Director
Cy Raker Endfield
Screenwriter
Geoffrey Unsworth
Cinematographer
Ernest Archer
Art Director
Yvonne Caffin
Costume Designer
Advertisement