Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Hell Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Director [[Performer~P290165~Danis Tanovic~danistanovic]] picks up where the late-[[Performer~P97360~Krzysztof Kieslowski~krzysztofkieslowski]] left off by taking on the second installment of [[Performer~P97360~Kieslowski~krzysztofkieslowski]]'s "[[Feature~V259840~Heaven~heaven]]," "Hell," and "Purgatory" trilogy (the first was adapted by [[Feature~V173489~Run Lola Run~runlolarun]] director [[Performer~P222772~Tom Tykwer~tomtykwer]]) with this tale of a family whose dark past returns with a vengeance. Loosely modeled by screenwriter [[Performer~P106485~Krzysztof Piesiewicz~krzysztofpiesiewicz]] on the second act of [[Performer~P315341~Dante~dantealighieri]]'s Inferno, Hell tells the story of sisters Sophie ([[Performer~P4789~Emmanuelle Béart~emmanuellebéart]]), Céline ([[Performer~P73433~Karin Viard~karinviard]]), and Anne ([[Performer~P196078~Marie Gillain~mariegillain]]), whose lives were turned upside down when their father was imprisoned and their mother was rendered a wheelchair-bound mute. As the estranged sisters are slowly brought back together by a mysterious and handsome stranger who is somehow involved with the tragic events of the past, the questions that had for years gone unanswered slowly begin to drift into focus. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:November 26, 1994

Cast

Emmanuelle Béart
as Sophie
Karin Viard
as Céline
Marie Gillain
as Anne
Carole Bouquet
as The Mother
Guillaume Canet
as Sébastien
Jacques Gamblin
as Pierre
Jacques Perrin
as Frédéric
Miki Manojlovic
as The father
Maryam D'Abo
as Julie
Gaelle Bona
as Joséphine
Dominique Reymond
as Michelle
Jean Rochefort
as Louis
Françoise Bertin
as Neighbour
Elodie Hesme
as Shop Assistant
Jean-Louis Barcelona
as Newspaper Seller
Esther Gorintin
as Old Lady
Emmanuelle Cosso
as Gynaecologist's Secretary
Joel Templeur
as Lad Chatting With Anne in Café
Veronique Barrault
as Professor
Jean-Marc Bihour
as Barman Serving Céline
Candide Sanchez
as Café Waiter Serving Anne
Georges Siatidis
as Ticket Inspector
Patrick Paroux
as Taxi Driver
Serge-Henri Valcke
as Bookseller
Marie Loboda
as Sophie As a Child
Arnaud Churin
as Man in Hotel Room
Olivier Claverie
as Professor
Louis-Marie Audubert
as Hotel Receptionist
Eric Naggar
as Professor

Crew

Danis Tanovic
Director
Marc Baschet
Producer
Cedomir Kolar
Producer
Drazen Bosnjak
Producer
Krzysztof Piesiewicz
Screenwriter
Laurent Dailland
Cinematographer
Dusko Segvic
Musical Arrangement
Dusko Segvic
Composer (Music Score)
Danis Tanovic
Composer (Music Score)
Francesca Calvelli
Editor
Aline Bonetto
Production Designer
Aline Bonetto
Art Director
Rosanna Seregni
Co-producer
Marion Hänsel
Co-producer
Yuji Sadai
Co-producer
Delphine Mabed
Set Designer
Emmanuel Maintigneux
Set Decorator
Olivier Jacquet
First Assistant Director
Bernard Tissier
Camera Operator
Pierre-Jacques Benichou
Casting
Cyril Holtz
Sound Mixer
Philippe Valentin
Production Manager
Philippe Guegan
Stunts Coordinator
Drazen Bosnjak
Music Producer
Ludovic Escalier
Sound Editor
Pascal Pajaud
Gaffer
Agnieszka Wroblewska
Screenplay Consultant
Jean-Christophe Spadaccini
Special Effects Supervisor
Laurence Vidot
Post Production Supervisor
Caroline de Vivaise
Costume/Wardrobe
Dirk Bombey
Sound Recordist
Laurence Azouvy
Key Make-up
Mathieu Caudroy
Steadicam Operator
Joyce Menger
Visual Effects
Denis Gastou
Special Effects Supervisor
Advertisement