Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Head of State Details


Can a high-attitude African-American politician who says what he thinks stand a chance in a presidential campaign? Mays Gilliam ([[Performer~P60918~Chris Rock~chrisrock]]) is a straight-talking alderman representing a inner-city neighborhood in Washington, D.C. In the midst of a hard-fought race for the White House, the Democratic presidential and vice-presidential candidates are killed in an airline crash, and with little time to prepare a new campaign, the Republican candidate, Vice President Brian Lewis ([[Performer~P64225~Nick Searcy~nicksearcy]]), seems all but guaranteed to win. With practically nothing to loose, party head Martin Geller ([[Performer~P3389~Dylan Baker~dylanbaker]]) approaches Gilliam and asks him to stand as the Democrat's presidential candidate. While Gilliam is dubious at first, before long his streetwise style and willingness to face the issues head-on earns him surprising figures in the polls, especially after he persuades his short-fused older brother, Mitch Gilliam ([[Performer~P44104~Bernie Mac~berniemac]]), to join the ticket as vice presidential candidate -- a big jump for a bail bondsman. Gilliam's love life also becomes more complicated as his ex-girlfriend Kim ([[Performer~P27154~Robin Givens~robingivens]]) decides she wants him back now that he has a shot at the White House, even though Gilliam only has eyes for Lisa ([[Performer~P223247~Tamala Jones~tamalajones]]). Head of State marked the directorial debut for comic and actor [[Performer~P60918~Chris Rock~chrisrock]], who also co-wrote and co-produced the film. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:March 28, 2003


Chris Rock
as Mays Gilliam
Bernie Mac
as Mitch Gilliam
Dylan Baker
as Martin Geller
Nick Searcy
as Brian Lewis
Lynn Whitfield
as Debra Lassiter
Robin Givens
as Kim
Tamala Jones
as Lisa Clark
James Rebhorn
as Senator Bill Arnot
Keith David
as Bernard Cooper
Tracy Morgan
as Meat Man
Stephanie March
as Nikki
Robert Stanton
as Adviser
Jude Ciccolella
as Mr. Earl
Nate Dogg
as Himself
Ned Eisenberg
as Mike Blake
Marcel Marceau
as Bob Perilla's Big Hillbilly Bluegrass Band
Helaine Fonda
as Hip Hop Dancer
Irving Jacobs
as 1st Fundraiser Party Goer
Ivan Scott
as Talk Show Host
Jamil Shaw
as Kid
Jeremy Borash
as Wrestling Announcer
Jim Scopeletis
as Pork Man
Jimmy Tingle
as Talk Show Host
John Badila
as General Olson James
Mike Hodge
as 2nd Fundraiser Issue Man
John Hall
as Hip Hop Dancer
Funkmaster Flex
as Inaugural Ball Announcer
David de Boy
as Police Chief
Billöah Greene
as Musician
Patsy Grady Abrams
as 1st Fundraiser Wife
Brian James
as B.G. James
Chandra Wilson
as Jaime
Kevin Reese
as Anchor
Kevin Witt
as Secret Service Agent
Brad Marshall
as Demolition Man
Heather Alicia Simms
as Tish
Brad Strange
as French Man
Brenna McDonough
as School Reporter
Caitlin Ray
as Little Girl
Alan Chadsey
as Falling Man
Clarke Peters
as Fundraiser Demo-Tape Man
Cory Rosemeier
as Helicopter Pilot
David Savoy
as Hip Hop Dancer
Delaney Williams
as Teamster #1
Donald Neal
as Senator
Ed Wheeler
as Mr. Hawkins
Ali LeRoi
as Crazy Hostile Dreadlock Voter
Gabrielle Goyette
as Woman
Gustave Johnson
as Chester Allen
Gwendolyn Mulamba
as 2nd Fundraiser Issue Woman
Kate Guyton
as Foot Lady
Angie Mattson
as Nate's Girl
Ann Haynsworth
as Hip Hop Dancer
Kirk Penberthy
as Gaines
Leanne Saunders
as Old Woman Transit Rider
Linda Kenyon
as Screaming Woman
Madeline DeVan
as Singing Lady
Annika Pergament
as Cable Anchorwoman
Marilyn Getas
as National Anchor
Mario Joyner
as Lotto Man
Mark Zeisler
as 1st Fundraiser Issue Guy
Michael Ahl
as Klansman
Michael Munford
as Bob Perilla's Big Hillbilly Bluegrass Band
Mojo Gentry
as Porter
Nancy Ding
as Voter on Street
Norman Seltzer
as 1st Fundraiser Husband
Novella Nelson
as Moderator
Patrice O'Neal
as Warren
Ashton Marks
as Bob Perilla's Big Hillbilly Bluegrass Band
Barbara Suto
as Hip Hop Dancer
Sade Baderinwa
as Transit Reporter
Beau James
as Senator
Sharon Savoy
as Hip Hop Dancer
Sloane Brown
as Roadside Reporter
Stan Stovall
as Anchor
Steven Maurice
as Shorty G
Tad Ohta
as Asian Man
Terry Chasteen
as Hip Hop Dancer
Thomas Bevans
as Hip Hop Dancer
Wes Johnson
as Teamster #2
Bob Perilla
as Bob Perilla's Big Hillbilly Bluegrass Band
Reg E. Cathey
as Officer Waters
Pat Moran
as 1st Fundraiser Issue Woman
Douglas Roberts
as Senator


Chris Rock
Chris Rock
Michael Rotenberg
Ali LeRoi
Ali LeRoi
Chris Rock
Donald Thorin
Stephen A. Rotter
Steven Jordan
Production Designer
Raymond Kluga
Art Director
Ezra Swerdlow
Executive Producer
Jay Klein
Set Designer
Amanda Sanders
Costume Designer
Whit Norris
Sound/Sound Designer
Kim Taylor Coleman
Victoria Thomas
Ali LeRoi
Second Unit Director