Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Head of State Details


Can a high-attitude African-American politician who says what he thinks stand a chance in a presidential campaign? Mays Gilliam (Chris Rock) is a straight-talking alderman representing a inner-city neighborhood in Washington, D.C. In the midst of a hard-fought race for the White House, the Democratic presidential and vice-presidential candidates are killed in an airline crash, and with little time to prepare a new campaign, the Republican candidate, Vice President Brian Lewis (Nick Searcy), seems all but guaranteed to win. With practically nothing to loose, party head Martin Geller (Dylan Baker) approaches Gilliam and asks him to stand as the Democrat's presidential candidate. While Gilliam is dubious at first, before long his streetwise style and willingness to face the issues head-on earns him surprising figures in the polls, especially after he persuades his short-fused older brother, Mitch Gilliam (Bernie Mac), to join the ticket as vice presidential candidate -- a big jump for a bail bondsman. Gilliam's love life also becomes more complicated as his ex-girlfriend Kim (Robin Givens) decides she wants him back now that he has a shot at the White House, even though Gilliam only has eyes for Lisa (Tamala Jones). Head of State marked the directorial debut for comic and actor Chris Rock, who also co-wrote and co-produced the film. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:March 28, 2003


Chris Rock
as Mays Gilliam
Bernie Mac
as Mitch Gilliam
Dylan Baker
as Martin Geller
Nick Searcy
as Brian Lewis
Lynn Whitfield
as Debra Lassiter
Robin Givens
as Kim
Tamala Jones
as Lisa Clark
James Rebhorn
as Senator Bill Arnot
Keith David
as Bernard Cooper
Tracy Morgan
as Meat Man
Stephanie March
as Nikki
Robert Stanton
as Adviser
Jude Ciccolella
as Mr. Earl
Nate Dogg
as Himself
Donald Neal
as Senator
Kate Guyton
as Foot Lady
Mojo Gentry
as Porter
Leanne Saunders
as Old Woman Transit Rider
Clarke Peters
as Fundraiser Demo-Tape Man
Marilyn Getas
as National Anchor
Steven Maurice
as Shorty G
Novella Nelson
as Moderator
Brad Strange
as French Man
Cory Rosemeier
as Helicopter Pilot
Jeremy Borash
as Wrestling Announcer
Brad Marshall
as Demolition Man
Barbara Suto
as Hip Hop Dancer
Funkmaster Flex
as Inaugural Ball Announcer
Billöah Greene
as Musician
Pat Moran
as 1st Fundraiser Issue Woman
Ed Wheeler
as Mr. Hawkins
Ali LeRoi
as Crazy Hostile Dreadlock Voter
Jim Scopeletis
as Pork Man
Kevin Reese
as Anchor
Mike Hodge
as 2nd Fundraiser Issue Man
Linda Kenyon
as Screaming Woman
Delaney Williams
as Teamster #1
Gwendolyn Mulamba
as 2nd Fundraiser Issue Woman
Sloane Brown
as Roadside Reporter
Gabrielle Goyette
as Woman
Nancy Ding
as Voter on Street
David de Boy
as Police Chief
Ivan Scott
as Talk Show Host
Beau James
as Senator
John Hall
as Hip Hop Dancer
Heather Alicia Simms
as Tish
Ann Haynsworth
as Hip Hop Dancer
Ashton Marks
as Bob Perilla's Big Hillbilly Bluegrass Band
Gustave Johnson
as Chester Allen
Mario Joyner
as Lotto Man
Brenna McDonough
as School Reporter
Annika Pergament
as Cable Anchorwoman
Mark Zeisler
as 1st Fundraiser Issue Guy
Ned Eisenberg
as Mike Blake
Reg E. Cathey
as Officer Waters
Chandra Wilson
as Jaime
Marcel Marceau
as Bob Perilla's Big Hillbilly Bluegrass Band
Alan Chadsey
as Falling Man
Helaine Fonda
as Hip Hop Dancer
Norman Seltzer
as 1st Fundraiser Husband
Brian James
as B.G. James
Kevin Witt
as Secret Service Agent
Stan Stovall
as Anchor
Angie Mattson
as Nate's Girl
Tad Ohta
as Asian Man
Caitlin Ray
as Little Girl
Michael Munford
as Bob Perilla's Big Hillbilly Bluegrass Band
Sharon Savoy
as Hip Hop Dancer
Sade Baderinwa
as Transit Reporter
Michael Ahl
as Klansman
Terry Chasteen
as Hip Hop Dancer
Bob Perilla
as Bob Perilla's Big Hillbilly Bluegrass Band
Patrice O'Neal
as Warren
Patsy Grady Abrams
as 1st Fundraiser Wife
Thomas Bevans
as Hip Hop Dancer
Wes Johnson
as Teamster #2
Irving Jacobs
as 1st Fundraiser Party Goer
John Badila
as General Olson James
Jamil Shaw
as Kid
Douglas Roberts
as Senator
Jimmy Tingle
as Talk Show Host
Kirk Penberthy
as Gaines
Madeline DeVan
as Singing Lady
David Savoy
as Hip Hop Dancer


Chris Rock
Chris Rock
Michael Rotenberg
Ali LeRoi
Ali LeRoi
Chris Rock
Donald Thorin
Stephen A. Rotter
Steven Jordan
Production Designer
Raymond Kluga
Art Director
Ezra Swerdlow
Executive Producer
Jay Klein
Set Designer
Amanda Sanders
Costume Designer
Whit Norris
Sound/Sound Designer
Kim Taylor Coleman
Victoria Thomas
Ali LeRoi
Second Unit Director